

Department of Energy

Washington, DC 20585 March 26, 1999

C. William Reamer, Chief High-Level Waste Branch Division of Waste Management Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Two White Flint North Rockville, MD 20852

Dear Mr. Reamer:

During the last two years, both the Department of Energy (DOE), Office of Civilian Radioactive Waste Management (OCRWM) and the Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC), Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards (NMSS) staffs have worked to revise and streamline the guidelines for communications between our respective staffs and management organizations during prelicensing activities under the Nuclear Waste Policy Act of 1982, as amended. Enclosed for your retention is the original of the newly revised, "Agreement Between DOE/OCRWM and NRC/NMSS Regarding Prelicensing Interactions," which bears all the necessary implementing DOE/OCRWM and NRC/NMSS signatures.

The efforts of both the DOE/OCRWM and the NRC/NMSS have resulted in an Agreement that is simpler, clearer, and maintains an effective structure for regulatory interactions. This new Prelicensing Agreement supersedes the "Procedural Agreement" and the "Project Specific Agreement", as revised in 1993.

Should you have any questions concerning this matter, please contact me at (202) 586-4973 or Chris Einberg of my staff at (202) 586-8869.

Sincerely.

100047

Alan B. Brownstein

Director, Regulatory Coordination Division

Office of Civilian Radioactive

Waste Management

Enclosure: As Stated

9904120059 990326

REC'D WENC 990912 0068 990326 Printed with soy ink on recycled paper

Grange LH

cc: w/encl.

L.H. Barrett, DOE/HQ (RW-1) FORS

A.B. Brownstein, DOE/HQ(RW-52)FORS

C.E. Einberg, DOE/HQ (RW-52) FORS

S.H. Hanauer, DOE/HQ (RW-2) FORS

R.A. Milner, DOE/HQ (RW-2) FORS

N.H. Slater, DOE/HQ (RW-52) FORS

Richard Major, ACNW, Washington, DC

B.J. Garrick, ACNW, Washington, DC

J.K. Kessler, EPRI, Palo Alto, CA

Steve Kraft, NEI, Washington, DC

W. D. Barnard, NWTRB, Arlington, VA

R.R. Loux, State of Nevada, Carson City, NV

John Meder, State of Nevada, Carson City, NV

Jim Regan, Churchill County, Fallon, NV

D.A. Bechtel, Clark County, Las Vegas, NV

Susan Dudley, Esmeralda County, Goldfield, NV

Leonard Fiorenzi, Eureka County, Eureka, NV

B.R. Mettam, Inyo County, Independence, CA

Tammy Manzini, Lander County, Austin, NV

Eve Culverwell, Lincoln County, Caliente, NV

Jackie Wallis, Mineral County, Hawthorne, NV

L.W.Bradshaw, Nye County. Pahrump, NV

Jerry McKnight, Nye County, Tonopah, NV

Wayne Cameron, White Pine County, Ely, NV

R.I. Holden, National Congress of American Indians, Washington, DC

Tom Burton, Nevada Indian Environmental Coalition, Reno, NV

K.L. Ashe, M&O, Las Vegas, NV

M.A. Lugo, M&O, Las Vegas, NV

E.F. O'Neil, M&O, Las Vegas, NV

J.H. Smyder, Naval Reactors, Las Vegas, NV

A.V. Gil, DOE/YMSCO, Las Vegas, NV

C.M. Newbury, DOE/YMSCO, Las Vegas, NV

B.M. Terrell, DOE/YMSCO, Las Vegas, NV

OL&RC Library

Records Processing Center