

## **Department of Energy**

Washington, DC 20585

WBS 1.2.11 QA

MAY 2 6 1993

Larry R. Hayes
Technical Project Officer
for Yucca Mountain
Site Characterization Project
U.S. Geological Survey
101 Convention Center Drive
Suite 860
Las Vegas, NV 89109

OFFICE OF CIVILIAN RADIOACTIVE WASTE MANAGEMENT QUALITY ASSURANCE AUDIT YMP-93-10 OF THE YUCCA MOUNTAIN SITE CHARACTERIZATION PROJECT (YMP)

Due to an unexpected emergency, the audit of U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) scheduled for May 17-21, 1993, had to be postponed. As a result, the audit is being rescheduled for June 14-18, 1993. The audit will be conducted in accordance with the enclosed updated audit plan.

Observers from the State of Nevada, U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission, and other interested parties may also accompany the audit team.

You are hereby requested to arrange for appropriate space to conduct meetings, provide cognizant personnel to support the audit, and provide audit team access to appropriate current USGS/YMP documentation and records.

If you have any questions, please contact either Mario R. Diaz at 794-7974 or Richard L. Maudlin at 794-7290.

Donald G. Horton, Director Office of Quality Assurance

OQA:MRD-4351

Enclosure: YMP-93-10 Audit Plan

020108

Add: Ken Kooker 11 NHOB WM-11 102.8

7306040112 730526 PDR WASTE WM-11 PDR cc w/encl:

L. H. Barrett, HQ (RW-1) FORS D. G. Horton, HQ (RW-3) FORS R. W. Clark, HQ (RW-3.1) FORS

J. W. Gilray, NRC, Las Vegas, NV K. R. Hooks, NRC, Washington, DC

R. R. Loux, NWPO, Carson City, NV

S. W. Zimmerman, NWPO, Carson City, NV

Cyril Schank, Churchill County Commission, Fallon, NV D. A. Bechtel, Clark County Comprehensive, Las Vegas, NV J. D. Hoffman, Esmeralda County, Goldfield, NV

Eureka County Board of Commissioners, Eureka, NV

Yucca Mountain Information Office, Eureka, NV Lander County Board of Commissioners, Battle Mountain, NV

Jason Pitts, Lincoln County, Pioche, NV V. E. Poe, Mineral County, Hawthorne, NV P. A. Niedzielski-Eichner, Nye County, Chantilly, VA

L. W. Bradshaw, Nye County, Tonopah, NV William Offutt, Nye County, Tonopah, NV

Florindo Mariani, White Pine County, Ely, NV

B. R. Mettam, County of Inyo, Independence, CA C. C. Warren, MACTEC, Las Vegas, NV

R. E. Powe, SAIC, Las Vegas, NV C. J. Henkel, EEI, Las Vegas, NV R. W. Craig, USGS, Las Vegas, NV