

Department of Energy Washington, DC 20585 AUG 31 1992 AUG 31 1993 AUG 31 1992 AUG 31 1992 AUG 31 1993 AUG 31 1992 AUG 31 1993 AUG 31 1993

Dr. Dade Moeller Chairman Advisory Committee on Nuclear Waste U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555

Dear Dr. Moeller:

For your information, effective August 10, 1992, the responsibilities of the Yucca Mountain Technical Data Manager is transferred from Claudia Newbury to Ardyth Simmons. In addition, the responsibility for managing Yucca Mountain Project activities with the Nuclear Waste Technical Review Board (TRB) is transferred from Ardyth Simmons to Jeanne Cooper, while overall Department of Energy (DOE) TRB activities remain the responsibility of Monica Michewicz. Responsibility for management of Yucca Mountain Project activities with the NRC's Advisory Committee on Nuclear Waste is transferred from Jeanne Cooper to April Gil, and overall DOE management of ACNW activities is the responsibility of Sharon Skuchko.

In this regard, Claudia Newbury, Ardyth Simmons, Jeanne Cooper, and April Gil are working to assure a smooth transition of the responsibilities in these areas.

Should you have any questions, please contact Sharon Skuchko of my office at (202) 586-4590.

Sincerely,

Q. Devell



John P. Roberts Acting Associate Director for Systems and Compliance Office of Civilian Radioactive Waste Management

102.2 NH03 10 WM-11 *H*r And '. J. Holonich

920831 PNR PDR WM-11

cc: C. Gertz, YMPO T. J. Hickey, Nevada Legislative Committee R. Loux, State of Nevada M. Baughman, Lincoln County, NV J. Bingham, Clark County, NV B. Raper, Nye County, NV P. Niedzielski-Eichner, Nye County, NV G. Derby, Lander County, NV P. Goicoechea, Eureka, NV C. Schank, Churchill County, NV F. Mariani, White Pine County, NV V. Poe, Mineral County, NV E. Wright, Lincoln County, NV J. Pitts, Lincoln County, NV R. Williams, Lander County, NV J. Hayes, Esmeralda County, NV M. Hayes, Esmeralda County, NV B. Mettam, Inyo County, CA J. Holonich, NRC

2

H. J. Larson, ACNW