

Department of Energy

Washington, DC 20585

SEP 2 1 1995

Robert W. Craig
Acting Technical Project Officer
for Yucca Mountain
Site Characterization Project
U.S. Geological Survey
101 Convention Center Drive
Suite 860
Las Vegas, NV 89109

OFFICE OF CIVILIAN RADIOACTIVE WASTE MANAGEMENT'S QUALITY ASSURANCE (QA) AUDIT YM-ARP-96-01 OF U.S. GEOLOGICAL SURVEY'S (USGS) SUPPORT OF THE YUCCA MOUNTAIN SITE CHARACTERIZATION PROJECT (SCPB: N/A)

Please be advised a team of auditors from the Yucca Mountain Quality Assurance Division will conduct a QA audit of selected project activities of the USGS QA program at the University of Nevada, Reno, Seismological Laboratory in Reno, Nevada, October 23-24, 1995, and at the USGS facilities in Denver, Colorado, October 25-27, 1995, in accordance with the enclosed audit plan.

Observers from the State of Nevada, U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission, and other interested parties may also accompany the audit team.

You are hereby requested to arrange for appropriate space to conduct meetings, provide cognizant personnel to support the audit, and provide audit team access to appropriate current documentation and records.

If you have questions, please contact either Mario R. Diaz at 794-7974 or Donald J. Harris at 794-7356.

Donald G. Horton, Director Office of Quality Assurance

OQA:MRD-4617

Enclosure:

Audit Plan YM-ARP-96-01

02.7 WM-11 WHO3/ cc w/encl:

D. A. Dreyfus, HQ (RW-1) FORS

L. H. Barrett, HQ (RW-2) FORS

R. W. Clark, HQ (RW-3.1) FORS

W. L. Belke, NRC, Las Vegas, NV

J. G. Spraul; NRC, Washington, DC

R. R. Loux, NWPO, Carson City, NV S. W. Zimmerman, NWPO, Carson City, NV

Cyril Schank, Chruchill County Commission, Fallon, NV

D. A. Bechtel, Clark County Comprehensive, Las Vegas, NV

J. D. Hoffman, Esmeralda County, Goldfield, NV

Eureka County Board of Commissioners, Eureka, NV

Lander County Board of Commissioners, Battle Mountain, NV

Jason Pitts, Lincoln County, Pioche, NV

V. E. Poe, Mineral County, Hawthorne, NV P. A. Niedzielski-Eichner, Nye County, Chantilly, VA

L. W. Bradshaw, Nye County, Tonopah, NV William Offutt, Nye County, Tonopah, NV

Florindo Mariani, White Pine County, Ely, NV

B. R. Mettam, County of Inyo, Independence, CA

C. K. Van House, YMQAD/QATSS, Las Vegas, NV

C. J. Henkel, NEI, Washington, DC