memorandum

DEC 30 1992

REPLY TO ATTN OF:

DOE,F 1325.8

RW-3

SUBJECT:

Office of Civilian Radioactive Waste Management (OCRWM) QA Audit Report HQ-92-04 of Energy Information Administation (EIA) Support Activities.

Chief, Renewable and Financial Data Systems and Outreach Branch (EI-523)

Attached is OCRWM Audit Report HQ-92-04 conducted by the Headquarters Quality Assurance Division at the offices of the Energy Information Administration in Washington, D.C. and subcontractor (Z, Inc.) at Silver Spring, MD from September 14-17, 1992.

The audit verified QA program adequacy and effectiveness for two quality affecting tasks performed for OCRWM. One task was to develop and maintain the "Data Collection System - RW-859 Nuclear Fuel Data Survey." The second task required the development and maintenance of the "Automatic Data Model - International Nuclear Model (INM)."

The audit team identified fourteen deficiencies during the course of the audit. One deficiency was corrected prior to the postaudit meeting. Thirteen of the deficiencies resulted in Corrective Action Requests.

The audit team determined that the Energy Information Administration (EIA) QA Program was not adequate nor was it being effectively implemented in accordance with the EIA Quality Assurance Program Description (QAPD) and implementing procedures.

If you have any questions, please contact Bob Clark of this office at (202) 586-5969 or Dennis Brown (CER) at (703) 276-9300.

R.W. Cli

For Donald G. Horton, Director Office of Quality Assurance

Attachment

040009

And: K Hooks
NHOB-11
NHOB-11

9301040161 921230 PDR WASTE WM-11 PDR cc:

- R. Spence, YMPO
- R. Loux, State of Nevada
- S. Zimmerman, NWPO, Carson City, NV
- K. Whipple, Lincoln County, NV
- M. Baughman, Lincoln County, NV
- J. Bingham, Clark County, NV
- D. Betchel, Clark County, NV
- E. von Tiesenhasuen, Clark County, Las Vegas, NV
- S. Bradhurst, Nye County, NV
- P. Niedzielski-Eichner, Nye County, NV
- R. Campbell, Inyo County, CA
- R. Michener, Inyo County, NV
- G. Derby, Lander County, NV
- P. Goicoechea, Eureka, NV
- C. Schank, Churchill County, NV
- C. Jackson, Mineral County, NV
- F. Sperry, White Pine County, NV
- L. Vaughn, Esmeralda County, NV
- K. Hooks, NRC, Washington, D.C.
- F. Peters, HQ, (RW-2) FORS
- R. Milner, HQ, (RW-40) FORS
- M. Payton, HQ, (RW-432) FORS
- T. Johnson, (RW-3.1) FORS
- W. Booth, Weston
- M. Collins, TRW, Vienna, VA
- F. Mayes, EIA (EI-523)
- B. O'Brien, EIA (EI-532)
- J. Disbrow, EIA (EI-523)
- W. Liggett, EIA (EI-532)
- K. Gibbard, EIA (EI-523)
- M.J. Meyer, CER
- D. Brown, CER

su incloure in the shelf