

Department of Energy Washington, DC 20585

APR 1 3 1990

Mr. Robert Browning, Director Division of High-Level Waste Management Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555

Dear Mr. Browning:

This letter is to notify you of the Department of Energy's (DOE) acceptance of the Fenix and Scisson of Nevada (FSN) Quality Assurance (QA) Program and to request NRC's acceptance, consistent with our agreements regarding OCRWM program participant QA program acceptance. It is the position of DOE that the FSN QA program is acceptable to initiate activities supporting new site characterization. Subsequent to both NRC acceptance and actual initiation of these activities, DOE will submit to NRC a plan and schedule for assessing the adequacy of FSN QA program implementation with respect to site characterization activities.

DOE's acceptance of the FSN QA program is based on:

- a) DOE review and approval of the FSN QA Program Plan (QAPP) and subsequent NRC acceptance of the QAPP (safety evaluation letter dated October 24, 1989, from Linehan to Stein).
- b) OCRWM surveillance of the Yucca Mountain Project Office (YMPO) QA program qualification audit 89-01, conducted April 10-14, 1989. (Enclosure 1)
- c) OCRWM review and concurrence of the basis for the YMPO acceptance of the FSN QA program (by memorandum dated March 1, 1990, from Gertz to Shelor). (Enclosure 2)

FULL TEXT ASCII SCAN

9004190215 900413 PDR WASTE WM-11PDC

WM-11 102.7 NH03

If you have any questions, please contact me on 586-6046 or Linda Desell of my staff on 586-1464.

Sincerely,

Ralph Stein, Associate Director Office of Systems Integration Integration and Regulations Office of Civilian Radioactive Waste Management

Enclosures: 1) Surveillance of the YMP QA Program Qualification Audit (89-01) of Fenix and Scisson, Inc. 2) Memorandum from C. Gertz to D. Shelor, dated March 1, 1990 re: Yucca Mountain Project Office Acceptance of the Fenix and Scisson, Inc. Quality Assurance Program

cc:

R. Loux, State of Nevada

M. Baughman, Lincoln County

D. Bechtel, Clark County

S. Bradhurst, Nye County