

Department of Energy

Washington, DC 20585

OA: N

JUL 28 1997

Chang Lau, Lead Technician TU Electric Metrology Laboratory P.O. Box 1002, Mail Code C36 Glen Rose, TX 76043

NOTIFICATION AND AUDIT PLAN FOR THE U.S. DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY OFFICE OF CIVILIAN RADIOACTIVE WASTE MANAGEMENT (OCRWM) OFFICE OF QUALITY ASSURANCE (OQA) SUPPLIER AUDIT OQA-SA-97-029 OF TU ELECTRIC METROLOGY LABORATORY

The OCRWM OQA will be conducting an audit of TU Electric Metrology Laboratory in Glen Rose, Texas, August 5-6, 1997, to measure the effectiveness of the Quality Assurance (QA) Program requirements as delineated in the Kiewit/Parsons Brinckerhoff (Kiewit/PB) Purchase Order 19801129. The scope of the audit will be TU Electric Metrology Laboratory's QA Manual, Revision 1, dated February 24, 1994, as approved by Kiewit/PB. The audit will be conducted by Daniel A. Klimas, Audit Team Leader.

The tentative schedule of the audit is as follows and may be modified to accommodate completion of the audit:

August 5, 1997

8:30 a.m.

Pre-Audit Meeting

4:00 p.m.

Progress Report and Identification of Concerns

August 6, 1997

8:30 a.m.

Clarification Meeting (if required)

4:00 p.m.

Post-Audit Meeting

The audit will be conducted in accordance with the latest revision of OCRWM's Quality Assurance Procedure 18.3, and deficiencies will be reported in accordance with Administrative Procedures 16.1Q and 16.2Q, as applicable. A formal checklist will be utilized to document the are encouraged to immediately correct any identified deficiencies during the audit to prevent the need for future follow-up activities.

7708060018 970728
PDR WASTE
PDR areas addressed and the results of effectiveness. TU Electric Metrology Laboratory's personnel





recip HMSS/HLUR

In addition, observers from the State of Nevada, U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission, and other interested parties may accompany the audit team.

If you have any questions, please contact either James Blaylock at (702) 794-1420 or Daniel A. Klimas at (702) 734-0853.

> Rw.(2) For Donald G. Horton, Director

> > Office of Quality Assurance

OQA:JB-1957

CC:

L. H. Barrett, DOE/HQ (RW-1) FORS

R. A. Milner, DOE/HQ (RW-2) FORS

T. A. Wood, DOE/HQ (RW-55) FORS

J. O. Thoma, NRC, Washington, DC

W. L. Belke, NRC, Las Vegas, NV

R. R. Loux, NWPO, Carson City, NV

S. W. Zimmerman, NWPO, Carson City, NV

Jim Regan, Churchill County, Fallon, NV

D. A. Bechtel, Clark County, Las Vegas, NV

Susan Dudley, Esmeralda County, Goldfield, NV

Sandy Green, Eureka County, Eureka, NV

Tammy Manzini, Lander County, Austin, NV

Kim Packard, Mineral County, Hawthorne, NV

P. A. Niedzielski-Eichner, Nye County, Chantilly, VA

L. W. Bradshaw, Nye County, Tonopah, NV

Wayne Cameron, White Pine County, Ely, NV

B. R. Mettam, County of Inyo, Independence, CA

Mifflin and Associates, Las Vegas, NV

T. H. Chaney, USGS, Denver, CO

M. J. Clevenger, M&O/LANL, Los Alamos, NM

R. E. Monks, M&O/LLNL, Livermore, CA

F. J. Schelling, M&O/SNL, Albuquerque, NM, M/S 1325

D. C. Mangold, M&O/LBNL, Berkeley, CA

H. R. Cox, M&O, Las Vegas, NV

L. D. Foust, M&O, Las Vegas, NV

R. W. Henderson, M&O, Las Vegas, NV

B. R. Justice, Jr., M&O, Las Vegas, NV

R. A. Morgan, M&O, Las Vegas, NV

R. W. Clark, DOE/OQA, Las Vegas, NV