

Department of Energy

Washington, DC 20585

APR 2 4 1997

W. W. Hanford Vice President, Marketing Ectron Corporation 8159 Engineer Road San Diego, CA 92111-1980

NOTIFICATION AND SURVEY PLAN FOR THE U.S. DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY OFFICE OF CIVILIAN RADIOACTIVE WASTE MANAGEMENT (OCRWM) OFFICE OF QUALITY ASSURANCE (OQA) SUPPLIER SURVEY OQA-SFE-97-004 OF ECTRON CORPORATION

The OCRWM OQA will be conducting a survey of Ectron Corporation's facility in San Diego, California, May 7-8, 1997, to evaluate compliance with the Quality Assurance (QA) Program as delineated in the Ectron Corporation QA Manual, Revision June 1991, and any associated QA procedures and/or implementing documents. The survey will be conducted by Donald J. Harris, Survey Team Leader.

The tentative schedule of the survey is as follows and may be modified to accommodate completion of the survey:

<u>May 7, 1997</u>

8:00 a.m. Pre-Survey Meeting4:30 p.m. Progress Report and Identification of Concerns

May 8, 1997

8:00 a.m.	Clarification Meeting
4:30 p.m.	Post-Survey Meeting

290124 RecipiNMssHLUR

The survey will be conducted in accordance with the latest revision of OCRWM's Quality Assurance Procedure 18.3, "Supplier Survey/Audits." A formal checklist will be utilized to document the areas addressed and the results of program effectiveness. Deficiencies identified during the survey which require corrective action will be discussed with Ectron Corporation's management and included in the survey report. Ectron Corporation's personnel are encouraged to immediately correct any identified deficiencies during the survey to prevent the need for future follow-up activities.

Printed with soy ink on recycled paper

Wm-11 102.2



NH33

QA: L

7704300205 970424 PDR WASTE W. W. Hanford

In addition, observers from the State of Nevada, U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission, and other interested parties may accompany the Survey Team Leader.

If you have any questions, please contact either James Blaylock at (702) 794-1420 or Donald J. Harris at (702) 794-1467.

Donald G. Horton, Director Office of Quality Assurance

OQA:JB-1427

CC: L. H. Barrett, DOE/HO (RW-1) FORS R. A. Milner, DOE/HQ (RW-2) FORS J. O. Thoma, NRC, Washington, DC W. L. Belke, NRC, Las Vegas, NV R. R. Loux, NWPO, Carson City, NV S. W. Zimmerman, NWPO, Carson City, NV Jim Regan, Churchill County, Fallon, NV D. A. Bechtel, Clark County, Las Vegas, NV Susan Dudley, Esmeralda County, Goldfield, NV Sandy Green, Eureka County, Eureka, NV Tammy Manzini, Lander County, Austin, NV V. E. Poe, Mineral County, Hawthorne, NV P. A. Niedzielski-Eichner, Nye County, Chantilly, VA L. W. Bradshaw, Nye County, Tonopah, NV Wayne Cameron, White Pine County, Ely, NV B. R. Mettam, County of Inyo, Independence, CA Mifflin and Associates, Las Vegas, NV T. H. Chaney, USGS, Denver, CO Howard Clark, Ectron Corporation, San Diego, CA M. J. Clevenger, M&O/LANL, Los Alamos, NM R. E. Monks, M&O/LLNL, Livermore, CA F. J. Schelling, M&O/SNL, Albuquerque, NM, M/S 1333 Donald Mangold, M&O/LBNL, Berkeley, CA R. E. Armstrong, M&O, Las Vegas, NV H. T. Greene, OOA/OATSS, Las Vegas, NV R. E. Powe, OQA/QATSS, Las Vegas, NV D. J. Harris, OQA/QATSS, Las Vegas, NV File, OQA/QATSS, Las Vegas, NV R. W. Clark, DOE/OQA, Las Vegas, NV