

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

WASHINGTON, D.C. 20555-0001

July 5, 1996

Mr. Ronald A. Milner, Director for Program Management and Integration Office of Civilian Radioactive Waste Management U.S. Department of Energy, RW 30 1000 Independence Avenue, S.W. Washington, D.C. 20585

SUBJECT: MINUTES OF THE JUNE 3. 1996. EXPLORATORY STUDIES FACILITY MEETING

Dear Mr. Milner:

Enclosed are the minutes of the June 3, 1996, technical meeting between the staff of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission and the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) on items of mutual interest regarding the Exploratory Studies Facility (ESF) Design and Construction. This meeting, convened at 12:30 p.m. Eastern Daylight Time, was held by four-way videoconference at DOE Headquarters in Washington, D.C.; DOE offices in Las Vegas, Nevada; NRC offices in Rockville, Maryland; and the Center for Nuclear Waste Regulatory Analyses (CNWRA) offices in San Antonio, lexas, as part of a continuing series of bi-monthly ESF meetings.

Organizations other than NRC and DOE that were represented at the meeting were the CNWRA; the Nuclear Energy Institute; the State of Nevada Nuclear Waste Project Office; the State of Nevada Nuclear Waste Task Force; Clark County, Nevada; Nye County, Nevada; U.S. Geological Survey; DOE's Management and Operating Contractor: DOE's Quality Assurance Technical Support Services: and Weston.

The meeting again resulted in a good exchange of information and views between DOE and NRC. No response to this letter is required. If you have any questions regarding this letter or the meeting minutes, please contact Jack Spraul of my staff. He can be reached at (301) 415-6715.

Sincerely.

Joh: 4 Austin, Chief

John O. Thoma for

Performance Assessment and High-Level Waste Integration Branch Division of Waste Management

Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

9607080420 960705 WASTE PDR PDR

Enclosure: As stated

cc: See attached list

Distribution for letter to Milner dated ___July 5. 1996 .

cc: C. Johnson, State of Nevada

J. Meder, Nevada Legislative Counsel Bureau

M. Murphy, Nye County, NV

M. Baughman, Lincoln County, NV D. Bechtel, Clark County, NV

P. Niedzielski-Eichner, Nye County, NV B. Mettam, Inyo County, CA

V. Poe, Mineral County, NV W. Cameron, White Pine County, NV

R. Williams, Lander County, NV
L. Fiorenzi, Eureka County, NV
J. Hoffman, Esmeralda County, NV
C. Schank, Churchill County, NV

L. Bradshaw, Nye County, NV W. Barnard, NWTRB R. Holden, NCAI

A. Melendez, NIEC

R. Arnold, Pahrump, NV

N. Stellavato, Nye County, NV

S. Brocoum, YMPO W. Barnes, YMPO

D. Horton, YMPO

C. Einberg, DOE/Wash, DC

Mr. Ronald A. Milner, Director for Program Management and Integration Office of Civilian Radioactive Waste Management U.S. Department of Energy, RW 30 1000 Independence Avenue, S.W. Washington, D.C. 20585

SUBJECT: MINUTES OF THE JUNE 3, 1996, EXPLORATORY STUDIES FACILITY MEETING

Dear Mr. Milner:

Enclosed are the minutes of the June 3, 1996, technical meeting between the staff of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission and the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) on items of mutual interest regarding the Exploratory Studies Facility (ESF) Design and Construction. This meeting, convened at 12:30 p.m. Eastern Daylight Time, was held by four-way videoconference at DOE Headquarters in Washington, D.C.; DOE offices in Las Vegas, Nevada; NRC offices in Rockville, Maryland; and the Center for Nuclear Waste Regulatory Analyses (CNWRA) offices in San Antonio. Texas, as part of a continuing series of bi-monthly ESF meetings.

Organizations other than NRC and DOE that were represented at the meeting were the CNWRA; the Nuclear Energy Institute; the State of Nevada Nuclear Waste Project Office; the State of Nevada Nuclear Waste Task Force; Clark County, Nevada; Nye County, Nevada; U.S. Geological Survey; DOE's Management and Operating Contractor: DOE's Quality Assurance Technical Support Services; and Weston.

The meeting again resulted in a good exchange of information and views between DOE and NRC. No response to this letter is required. If you have any questions regarding this letter or the meeting minutes, please contact Jack Spraul of my staff. He can be reached at (301) 415-6715.

Sincerely,

[Original signed by J. Thoma for:]
John H. Austin, Chief Performance Assessment and High-Level Waste Integration Branch Division of Waste Management Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safequards

080102

Enclosure: As stated

cc: See attached list

DISTRIBUTION w/Enclosure:

FILE CENTER DWM r/f

PUBLIC

LSS

ACNW **SWastler** CNWRA NRC Attenders

On-site Reps

HLUR r/f NMSS r/f

w/o Enclosure: MWeber

JSurmeier

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY NAME

DOCUMENT NAME: S:\DWM\PAHL\JGS\ESFMtgO3.Rpt

426.1

In small box on "OFC" line enter: C = Cover only, E = Cover & enclosure, N = No copy
In small box on "DATE" line enter: M = E-mail distribution, N = Nard copy E 6 **OFC** PAHL Ε PAHL PAHL **é**Thoma NAME JSpraul/kv H H H 07/5 /96 DATE 07/01/96 07/ 5 /96

R. Milner

Distribution for letter to Milner dated ___July_5. 1996_.

cc: C. Johnson, State of Nevada

J. Meder, Nevada Legislative Counsel Bureau

M. Murphy, Nye County, NV

M. Baughman, Lincoln County, NV
D. Bechtel, Clark County, NV
P. Niedzielski-Eichner, Nye County, NV
B. Mettam, Inyo County, CA
V. Poe, Mineral County, NV
W. Cameron, White Pine County, NV
P. Milliams Landon County, NV

R. Williams, Lander County, NV
L. Fiorenzi, Eureka County, NV
J. Hoffman, Esmeralda County, NV
C. Schank, Churchill County, NV

L. Bradshaw, Nye County, NV W. Barnard, NWTRB

R. Holden, NCAI

A. Melendez, NIEC

R. Arnold, Pahrump, NV

N. Stellavato, Nye County, NV

S. Brocoum, YMPO W. Barnes, YMPO

D. Horton, YMPO

C. Einberg, DOE/Wash, DC