

Department of Energy

Washington, DC 20585 AUG 1 2 1996

L. Dale Foust
Technical Project Officer
For Yucca Mountain
Site Characterization Project
TRW Environmental Safety Systems, Inc.
Bank of America Center, Suite P-110
101 Convention Center Drive
Las Vegas, NV 89109

AUDIT REPORT FOR THE U.S. DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY OFFICE OF CIVILIAN RADIOACTIVE WASTE MANAGEMENT OFFICE OF QUALITY ASSURANCE (OQA) SUPPLIER AUDIT OQA-SA-96-019 OF FRAMATOME TECHNOLOGIES, INC.

The audit of Framatome Technologies, Inc. (enclosure) was performed July 23-24, 1996, at its Lynchburg, Virginia, facility. The audit criteria is delineated in the Civilian Radioactive Waste Management System Management and Operating Contractor (CRWMS M&O) contract number DE-AC01-91RW00134. The audit resulted in the issuance of two Deficiency Reports (DR). The DRs, with response due dates, have been provided to the CRWMS M&O for action. Tracking of the DRs will be the responsibility of the OQA.

The results of the audit warrant a recommendation that use of Framatome Technologies, Inc. be suspended until a full evaluation of the impact of the deficiencies on the development effort performed by Framatome Technologies, Inc. has been performed and a determination that Framatome Technologies, Inc. is in full compliance with its quality program.

The audit is considered complete and closed as of the date of this letter. Resolutions to the DRs will be evaluated by the OQA and closed as appropriate.

If you have any questions, please contact either Robert B. Constable at (702) 794-5580 or Richard L. Maudlin at (702) 794-1302.

Donald G. Horton, Director Office of Quality Assurance

OQA:RBC-2380

Enclosure:

Audit Report OQA-SA-96-019

9608160211 960812

PDR WASTE

PDR

Printed wi

Printed with soy ink on recycled pape

160056

recipi J. Spraul

L. Dale Foust

cc w/encl:

D. A. Dreyfus, DOE/HQ (RW-1) FORS

L. H. Barrett, DOE/HQ (RW-2) FORS

R. W. Clark, DOE/HQ (RW-3.1) FORS

J. G. Spraul, NRC, Washington, DC

W. L. Belke, NRC, Las Vegas, NV

R. R. Loux, NWPO, Carson City, NV

S. W. Zimmerman, NWPO, Carson City, NV

Cyril Schank, Churchill County, Fallon, NV

D. A. Bechtel, Clark County, Las Vegas, NV

J. D. Hoffman, Esmeralda County, Goldfield, NV

Eureka County Board of Commissioners, Eureka, NV

Lander County Board of Commissioners, Battle Mountain, NV

V. E. Poe, Mineral County, Hawthorne, NV

P. A. Niedzielski-Eichner, Nye County, Chantilly, VA

L. W. Bradshaw, Nye County, Tonopah, NV

William Offutt, Nye County, Tonopah, NV

Wayne Cameron, White Pine County, Ely, NV

B. R. Mettam, County of Inyo, Independence, CA

Mifflin and Associates, Las Vegas, NV

T. H. Chaney, USGS, Denver, CO

M. J. Clevenger, M&O/LANL, Los Alamos, NM

R. E. Monks, M&O/LLNL, Livermore, CA

R. R. Richards, M&O/SNL, Albuquerque, NM, M/S 1333

Donald Mangold, M&O/LBNL, Berkeley, CA

R. E. Armstrong, M&O, Las Vegas, NV

R. P. Ruth, M&O, Las Vegas, NV

A. M. Segrest, M&O, Las Vegas, NV

J. W. Willis, M&O, Las Vegas, NV

R. E. Powe, YMQAD/QATSS, Las Vegas, NV