

Department of Energy

Washington, DC 20585

OCT 0 3 1995

L. Dale Foust Technical Project Officer for Yucca Mountain Site Characterization Project TRW Environmental Safety System Bank of America Center, Suite P-110 101 Convention Center Drive Las Vegas, NV 89109

OFFICE OF CIVILIAN RADIOACTIVE WASTE MANAGEMENT (OCRWM) QUALITY ASSURANCE (QA) AUDIT YM-ARC-96-02 OF THE CIVILIAN RADIOACTIVE WASTE MANAGEMENT SYSTEM MANAGEMENT AND OPERATING (CRWMS M&O) CONTRACTOR'S SUPPORT OF THE YUCCA MOUNTAIN SITE CHARACTERIZATION PROJECT (SCPB: N/A)

Please be advised a team of auditors from the Yucca Mountain Quality Assurance Division will conduct a QA audit of the CRWMS M&O QA program for Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory (LBL) in Berkeley, California, October 30 through November 3, 1995. The audit will be conducted in accordance with the enclosed audit plan.

Observers from the State of Nevada, U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission, and other interested parties may also accompany the audit team.

You are hereby requested to arrange for appropriate space to conduct meetings, provide cognizant personnel to support the audit, and provide audit team access to appropriate current LBL documentation and records.

If you have any questions, please contact Mario R. Diaz at 794-7974 or Charles C. Warren at 794-7248.

Donald G. Hofton, Director Office of Quality Assurance

OQA:MRD-4652

Enclosure: Audit Plan YM-ARC-96-02

10100298 951003

WASTE

PDR

WM-11

100004

PDR

L. Dale Foust

cc w/encl: D. A Dreyfus, HQ (RW-1) FORS L. H. Barrett, HQ (RW-2) FORS R. W. Clark, HQ (RW-3.1) FORS C. J. Henkel, NEI, Washington, DC J. G. Spraul, NRC, Washington, DC W. L. Belke, NRC, Las Vegas, NV R. R. Loux, NWPO, Carson City, NV S. W. Zimmerman, NWPO, Carson City, NV Cyril Schank, Churchill County, Fallon, NV D. A. Bechtel, Clark County, Las Vegas, NV J. D. Hoffman, Esmeralda County, Goldfield, NV Eureka County Board of Commissioners, Eureka, NV Lander County Board of Commissioners, Battle Mountain, NV Jason Pitts, Lincoln County, Pioche, NV V. E. Poe, Mineral County, Hawthorne, NV P. A. Niedzielski-Eichner, Nye County, Chantilly, VA L. W. Bradshaw, Nye County, Tonopah, NV William Offutt, Nye County, Tonopah, NV Florindo Mariani, White Pine County, Ely, NV B. R. Mettam, County of Inyo, Independence, CA G. S. Bodvarsson, LBL, Berkeley, CA S. J. Levy, LBL, Berkeley, CA

C. K. VanHouse, YMQAD/QATSS, Las Vegas, NV

-2-

· . ,

UCT U 3 1995