

Department of Energy

Washington, DC 20585

JANUARY 16, 1996

Dr. Robert L. Strickler General Manager CRWMS, M&O TRW Environmental Safety Systems, Inc. 2650 Park Tower Drive, Suite 800 Vienna, VA 22180

Subject:

Office of Civilian Radioactive Waste Management (OCRWM) Quality Assurance (QA) Audit OQA-SA-96-001 of Westinghouse GESCO QA Program

Dear Dr. Strickler:

Enclosed is the report for the Westinghouse GESCO Supplier Audit conducted by the Office of Quality Assurance (OQA). This audit re-evaluated the Westinghouse GESCO QA Program implementation as described in the Westinghouse GESCO Quality Plan, the SEG Quality Management System Manual, and the related implementing procedures used to perform multi-purpose canister system work.

As a result of the audit, no new deficiency documents were identified. However, two deficiencies were identified that were corrected during the audit and two recommendations were identified for GESCO Management consideration.

As described in the report, Westinghouse GESCO QA Program implementation was found to be satisfactory. GESCO can now be placed on the OCRWM Qualified Suppliers List. The Audit Team also reviewed and statused previously identified areas of concern from OQA's previous audit HQ-SA-95-01. Completion of effective corrective action was considered essential in achieving the successful results of this audit.

Please transmit this report to appropriate GESCO management.

If you have any questions, please contact Bob Clark at (202) 586-1238 or Richard Peck of QATSS at (202) 488-5438.

R.w. Ch

C Donald G. Horton, Director Office of Quality Assurance

Enclosure

9601190108 960116 PDR WASTE WM-11 PDR 190033

NH03 11 102.7 WM-11

QA:L



Printed with soy ink on recycled paper

ĊĊ L. H. Barrett, RW-2 T. Johnson, RW-3.1 R. Spence, RW-3.2 T. Wood, RW-14 J. G. Spraul, NRC, Washington, DC C. Haughney, NRC, Washington, DC R. R. Loux, NWPO, Carson City, NV S. W. Zimmerman, NWPO, Carson City, NV Cyril Schank, Churchill County Commission, Fallon, NV D. A. Bechtel, Clark County Comprehensive, Las Vegas, NV J. D. Hoffman, Esmeralda County, Goldfield, NV Eureka County Board of Commissioners, Yucca Mountain Information Office, Eureka, NV Lander County Board of Commissioners, Battle Mountain, NV Jason Pitts, Lincoln County, Pioche, NV V. E. Poe, Mineral County, Hawthorne, NV P. A. Niedzielski-Eichner, Nye County, Chantilly, VA L. W. Bradshaw, Nye County, Tonopah, NV William Offutt, Nye County, Tonopah, NV Florindo Mariani, White Pine County, Ely, NV B. R. Mettam, County of Inyo, Independence, CA Mifflin and Associates, Las Vegas, NV R. P. Ruth, M&O/Duke, Las Vegas, NV R. A. Morgan, M&O/Duke, Vienna, VA C. J. Henkel, NEI, Washington, DC

2