

## **Department of Energy**

Washington, DC 20585

SEP 26 1995

Mr. Joseph J. Holonich
Chief, High-Level Waste and
Uranium Recovery Projects Branch
Division of Waste Management
Office of Nuclear Material
Safety and Safeguards
Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, DC 20555-0001

Reference: Ltr., Holonich to Milner, dtd August 15, 1995

Dear Mr. Holonich:

In response to the letter, referenced above, it is necessary to clarify the Office of Civilian Radioactive Waste Management (OCRWM) Affected Organizations' roles in the qualification of OCRWM suppliers.

The OCRWM supplier qualification process is governed by Administrative Procedure (AP) 7.4 Q, "Maintenance of the OCRWM Qualified Suppliers List," Quality Assurance Procedure (QAP) 7.2, "Supplier Evaluation," and QAP 18.3, "Supplier Surveys/Audits." As delineated in these procedures, the Civilian Radioactive Waste Management System Management and Operating Contractor (CRWMS M&O), U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) and the Office of Quality Assurance participate in the supplier qualification process.

The CRWMS M&O and USGS are responsible for the qualification of suppliers through review of performance history, quality assurance records, Quality Assurance Requirements and Descriptions requirements matrix, or a combination of these methodologies. The Office of Quality Assurance will perform pre-award surveys as requested by the CRWMS M&O and USGS. The CRWMS M&O and USGS remain responsible for annual performance evaluations. Results of the performance evaluations will be transmitted to and retained by the Office of Quality Assurance. Additions or deletions of suppliers from the Qualified Suppliers List will be based on requests from the CRWMS M&O or USGS.

The Office of Quality Assurance responsibilities for the supplier evaluation program include maintenance of the Qualified Suppliers List, performance of pre-award surveys and triennial audits and input of monthly updates to the Qualified Suppliers List.

DH03710 wm-11

000016

If there are any further questions regarding the roles of Affected Organizations in the supplier qualification process, please contact Donald Horton at (702) 794-7675.

Ronald A. Milner, Director
Office of Program Management
and Integration

cc:

R. Loux, State of Nevada

R. Price, NV Legislative Committee, NV

J. Meder, NV Legislative Counsel Bureau, NV

M. Murphy, Nye County, NV

D. Bechtel, Clark County, NV

P. Niedzielski-Eichner, Nye County, NV

B. Mettam, Inyo County, CA

V. Poe, Mineral County, NV

F. Mariani, White Pine County, NV

R. Williams, Lander County, NV

L. Fiorenzi, Eureka County, NV

J. Hoffman, Esmeralda County, NV

C. Schank, Churchill County, NV

L. Bradshaw, Nye County, NV

W. Barnard, NWTRB, Washington, DC

E. Lowry, NV Indian Environmental Coalition, NV

R. Holden, National Congress of American Indians

J. Greeves, NRC

J. Holonich, NRC