

Department of Energy

Washington, DC 20585

SEPTEMBER 21, 1995

QA:L

Dr. Robert L. Strickler General Manager CRWMS, M&O TRW Environmental Safety Systems, Inc. 2650 Park Tower Drive, Suite 800 Vienna VA 22180

Subject:

Office of Civilian Radioactive Waste Management (OCRWM) Quality Assurance (OA) Audit HO-SA-95-001 of Westinghouse Government and Environmental Services Company (GESCO) QA Program

Dear Dr. Strickler:

Enclosed is the report for the GESCO Supplier Audit conducted by the Office of Quality Assurance to evaluate the its QA Program implementation as described in the GESCO Quality Plan, the SEG Quality Management System Manual, and the related implementing procedures used to perform multi-purpose canister system work. Please transmit this report to appropriate GESCO and SEG management and personnel.

As a result of the audit, deficiencies were identified that resulted in the issuance of two Corrective Action Requests, seven Deficiency Reports, and two Performance Reports. In addition, thirteen (13) deficiencies were identified that were corrected during the audit and four recommendations were identified for GESCO Management consideration.

As described in the report, Westinghouse GESCO QA Program implementation was found to be unsatisfactory. GESCO must be re-audited before they can be placed on the OCRWM Qualified Suppliers List.

If you have any questions, please contact Bob Clark at (202) 586-1238 or Richard Peck of QATSS at (202) 488-5438.

For Donald G. Horton, Director Office of Quality Assurance

Enclosure

102.71

cc:

R. Clark, RW-3.1

T. Johnson, RW-3.1

L. H. Barrett, RW-2

T. Wood, RW-14

J. Williams, DOE-RW-46

P. Kumar, DOE-RW-46

J. G. Spraul, NRC, Washington, DC

R. R. Loux, NWPO, Carson City, NV

S. W. Zimmerman, NWPO, Carson City, NV

Cyrli Schank, Churchill County Commission, Fallon, NV

D. A. Bechtel, Clark County Comprehensive, Las Vegas, NV

J. D. Hoffman, Esmeralda County, Goldfield, NV

Eureka County Board of Commissioners,

Yucca Mountain Information Office, Eureka, NV

Lander County Board of Commissioners, Battle Mountain, NV

Jason Pitts, Lincoln County, Pioche, NV

V. E. Poe, Mineral County, Hawthorne, NV

P. A. Niedzielski-Eichner, Nye County, Chantilly, VA

L. W. Bradshaw, Nye County, Tonopah, NV

William Offutt, Nye County, Tonopah, NV

Florindo Mariani, White Pine County, Ely, NV

B. R. Mettam, County of Inyo, Independence, CA

Mifflin and Associates, Las Vegas, NV

R. P. Ruth, M&O/Duke, Las Vegas, NV

R. A. Morgan, M&O/Duke, Vienna, VA

D. Boyt, M&O-Vienna

A. Kubo, M&O-Vienna

J. Clark, M&O-Vienna

C. J. Henkel, NEI, Washington, DC

R. E. Spence, YMQAD, Las Vegas

J. George, QATSS-HQ

R. Peck, QATSS-HQ

W. Hudson, QATSS-LV