

Department of Energy

Washington, DC 20585

OCT 2 3 1995

Robert W. Craig Acting Technical Project Officer for Yucca Mountain Site Characterization Project U.S. Geological Survey Bank of America Center, Suite 860 101 Convention Center Drive Las Vegas, NV 89109

OFFICE OF CIVILIAN RADIOACTIVE WASTE MANAGEMENT'S (OCRWM) QUALITY ASSURANCE (QA) AUDIT YM-ARP-95-20 OF U.S. GEOLOGICAL SURVEY (USGS) IN SUPPORT OF THE YUCCA MOUNTAIN SITE CHARACTERIZATION PROJECT (SCPB: N/A)

Enclosed is the report of OCRWM QA Audit YM-ARP-95-20. The audit was conducted by the Yucca Mountain Quality Assurance Division of the Office of Quality Assurance (OQA) at the Yucca Mountain Site in Las Vegas, Nevada, and Denver, Colorado, during the period of September 6-15, 1995.

During the course of the audit, the audit team generated one OCRWM Corrective Action Request (CAR), three OCRWM Deficiency Reports (DR), and one OCRWM Performance Report (PR). Response to the CAR (which was transmitted via separate letter) is due by the date indicated in Block 12 of the CAR. Responses to the DRs (which were transmitted via separate letter) are due by the dates indicated in Block 10 of the DR. A response to the PR (which was issued to a responsible USGS individual) is due by the date indicated in Block 10 of the PR. A response to this audit report and any documented recommendations is not required.

The audit is considered completed and closed as of the date of this letter; however, any open deficiency documents will continue to be tracked until they have been closed to the satisfaction of the QA representative and the Director, OQA.

NH03 ||1 102.7 Wm-11

9510270195 951023 PDR WASTE WM-11 PDR

Robert W. Craig

-2-

OCT 2 3 1995

If you have any questions, please contact either Mario R. Diaz at (702) 794-7974 or Kenneth O. Gilkerson at (702) 794-7762.

Donald G. Horton, Director Office of Quality Assurance

OQA:MRD-245

Enclosure: Audit Report YM-ARP-95-20

cc w/encl: D. A. Dreyfus, HQ (RW-1) FORS L. H. Barrett, HQ (RW-2) FORS R. W. Clark, HQ (RW-3.1) FORS W. L. Belke, NRC, Las Vegas, NV J. G. Spraul, NRC, Washington, DC R. R. LOUX, NWPO, Carson City, NV S. W. Zimmerman, NWPO, Carson City, NV Cyril Schank, Churchill County, Fallon, NV D. A. Bechtel, Clark County, Las Vegas, NV J. D. Hoffman, Esmeralda County, Goldfield, NV Eureka County Board of Commissioners, Eureka, NV Lander County Board of Commissioners, Battle Mountain, NV Jason Pitts, Lincoln County, Pioche, NV V. E. Poe, Mineral County, Hawthorne, NV P. A. Niedzielski-Eichner, Nye County, Chantilly, VA L. W. Bradshaw, Nye County, Tonopah, NV William Offutt, Nye County, Tonopah, NV Florindo Mariana, White Pine County, Ely, NV B. R. Mettam, County of Inyo, Independence, CA Mifflin and Associates, Las Vegas, NV S. L. Bolivar, LANL, Livermore, CA R. E. Monks, LLNL, Livermore, CA R. P. Ruth, M&O, Las Vegas, NV J. D. Christensen, Kiewit/PB, Las Vegas, NV R. R. Richards, SNL, Albuquerque, NM, M/S 1333 T. H. Chaney, USGS, Denver, CO C. K. Van House, YMQAD/QATSS, Las Vegas, NV A. W. Rabe, YMQAD/QATSS, Las Vegas, NV C. J. Henkel, NEI, Washington, DC

270004