

## **Department of Energy**

Washington, DC 20585

JUL 2 5 1995

Larry R. Hayes
Technical Project Officer
for Yucca Mountain
Site Characterization Project
U.S. Geological Survey
101 Convention Center Drive
Suite 860
Las Vegas, NV 89109

OFFICE OF CIVILIAN RADIOACTIVE WASTE MANAGEMENT'S QUALITY ASSURANCE (QA) AUDIT YM-ARP-95-12 OF U.S. GEOLOGICAL SURVEY'S (USGS) SUPPORT OF THE YUCCA MOUNTAIN SITE CHARACTERIZATION PROJECT (SCPB: N/A)

Enclosed is the report of OCRWM QA Audit YM-ARP-95-12. The audit was conducted by the Yucca Mountain Quality Assurance Division of the Office of Quality Assurance (OQA) at the Yucca Mountain Site, Nevada and Denver, Colorado, during the period of June 8-16, 1995.

During the course of the audit, the audit team generated two OCRWM Corrective Action Requests (CAR). Responses to the CARS (which were transmitted via separate letter) are due by the dates indicated in Block 13 of the CARs. In addition, a response to documented recommendations in this audit report is required. It is requested that the responses to the recommendations be provided to YMQAD within 30 days of receipt of this report.

The audit is considered completed and closed as of the date of this letter; however, any open CARs will continue to be tracked until they have been closed to the satisfaction of the QA representative and the Director, OQA.

If you have any questions, please contact Mario R. Diaz at 794-7974 or Kenneth O. Gilkerson at 794-7738.

Donald G. Horton, Director Office of Quality Assurance

OOA:MRD-3973

Enclosure:

Audit Report YM-ARP-95-12

9508010209 950725 PDR WASTE WM-11 PDR Must. 1

## cc w/encl:

- D. A. Dreyfus, HQ (RW-1) FORS
- L. H. Barrett, HQ (RW-2) FORS
- R. W. Clark, HQ (RW-3.1) FORS
- W. L. Belke, NRC, Las Vegas, NV J. G. Spraul NRC, Washington, DC
- R. R. Loux, NWPO, Carson City, NV
- S. W. Zimmerman, NWPO, Carson City, NV
- Cyril Schank, Churchill County Commission, Fallon, NV
- D. A. Bechtel, Clark County Comprehensive, Las Vegas, NV
- J: D. Hoffman, Esmeralda County, Goldfield, NV
- Eureka County Board of Commissioners, Eureka, NV
- Lander County Board of Commissioners, Battle Mountain, NV
- Jason Pitts, Lincoln County, Pioche, NV
- V. E. Poe, Mineral County, Hawthorne, NV
- P. A. Niedzielski-Eichner, Nye County, Chantilly, VA
- L. W. Bradshaw, Nye County, Tonopah, NV
- William Offutt, Nye County, Tonopah, NV
- Florindo Mariani, White Pine County, Ely, NV
- B. R. Mettam, County of Inyo, Independence, CA
- Mifflin and Associates, Las Vegas, NV
- S. L. Bolivar, LANL, Los Alamos, NM
- R. E. Monks, LLNL, Livermore, CA
- R. P. Ruth, M&O, Las Vegas, NV
- W. J. Glasser, REECo, Las Vegas, NV
- J. D. Christensen, Kiewit/PB, Las Vegas, NV
- R. R. Richards, SNL, Albuquerque, NM, M/S 1333
- T. H. Chaney, USGS, Denver, CO
- C. K. Van House, YMQAD/QATSS, Las Vegas, NV
- R. L. Maudlin, YMQAD/QATSS, Las Vegas, NV
- C. J. Henkel, NEI, Washington, DC