

Department of Energy Washington, DC 20585

JUL 2 5 1995

L. Dale Foust
Technical Project Officer
for Yucca Mountain
Site Characterization Project
TRW Environmental Safety Systems, Inc.
Bank of America Center, Suite P-110
101 Convention Center Drive
Las Vegas, NV 89109

OFFICE OF CIVILIAN RADIOACTIVE WASTE MANAGEMENT QUALITY ASSURANCE (QA) AUDIT YM-ARP-95-19 OF THE CIVILIAN RADIOACTIVE WASTE MANAGEMENT SYSTEM MANAGEMENT AND OPERATING CONTRACTOR (CRWMS M&O) SUPPORT OF THE YUCCA MOUNTAIN SITE CHARACTERIZATION PROJECT (SCPB: N/A)

Please be advised a team of auditors from the Yucca Mountain Quality Assurance Division will conduct a QA audit of the CRWMS M&O QA program on August 21-25, 1995. Specific activities completed by Sandia National Laboratories (SNL) as directed by the CRWMS M&O will be evaluated in Albuquerque, New Mexico, August 21-23, 1995. The remaining activities will be audited in Las Vegas, Nevada, August 24-25, 1995. The audit will be conducted in accordance with the enclosed audit plan.

Observers from the State of Nevada, U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission, and other interested parties may also accompany the audit team.

You are hereby requested to arrange for appropriate space to conduct meetings, provide cognizant personnel to support the audit, and provide audit team access to appropriate current CRWMS M&O and SNL documentation and records.

If you have any questions, please contact either Mario R. Diaz at 794-7974 or Richard L. Weeks at 794-7853.

OOA:MRD-4014

Donald G. Horton, Director Office of Quality Assurance

They will

Enclosure: Audit Plan YM-ARP-95-19

cc w/encl:

D. A Dreyfus, HQ (RW-1) FORS

L. H. Barrett, HQ (RW-2) FORS

R. W. Clark, HQ (RW-3.1) FORS

T. A. Wood, HQ (RW-14) FORS

W. L. Belke, NRC, Las Vegas, NV J. G. Spraul, NRC, Washington, DC

R. R. Loux, NWPO, Carson City, NV

S. W. Zimmerman, NWPO, Carson City, NV

Cyril Schank, Churchill County Commission, Fallon, NV D. A. Bechtel, Clark County Comprehensive, Las Vegas, NV

J. D. Hoffman, Esmeralda County, Goldfield, NV

Eureka County Board of Commissioners, Eureka, NV Lander County Board of Commissioners, Battle Mountain, NV

Jason Pitts, Lincoln County, Pioche, NV

V. E. Poe, Mineral County, Hawthorne, NV

P. A. Niedzielski-Eichner, Nye County, Chantilly, VA

L. W. Bradshaw, Nye County, Tonopah, NV William Offutt, Nye County, Tonopah, NV

Florindo Mariani, White Pine County, Ely, NV

B. R. Mettam, County of Inyo, Independence, CA

R. P. Ruth, MSO, Las Vegas, NV

L. S. Costin, SNL, Albuquerque, NM

R. R. Richards, SNL, Albuquerque, NM

C. K. Van House, YMQAD/QATSS, Las Vegas, NV

C. J. Henkel, NEI, Washington, DC