

Department of Energy Washington, DE 20585 JUL 1 5 1993

Mr. Joseph J. Holonich, Director Repository Licensing and Quality Assurance Project Directorate Division of High-Level Waste Management Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555

Dear Mr. Holonich:

This responds to your letter dated June 28, 1993 (Holonich to Shelor), in which the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) identified designees for implementing Appendix 2, paragraph 2, and Item (2) of Appendix 7 of the "Agreement Between the U.S. Department of Energy Office of Civilian Radioactive Waste Management and the Nuclear Regulatory Commission Division of High-Level Waste Management During Site Characterization Programs and Prior to the Submittal of an Application for Authorization to Construct a Repository."

The U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) acknowledges that Ms. Nancy White is the designee for implementing Appendix 2, paragraph 2, and Ms. Charlotte Abrams is the designee for implementing Appendix 7, Item (2).

Likewise, DOE has identified one designee for implementing Appendix 2, paragraph 2, and two designees for implementing Appendix 7, Item (2). The designee for Appendix 2 is Ms. April V. Gil, Regulatory Interactions Branch, Yucca Mountain Site Characterization Project Office (YMPO), at Las Vegas, Nevada. The two designees for Appendix 7 are Ms. Linda J. Desell, Chief, Regulatory Integration Branch, Office of Systems and Compliance, Office of Civilian Radioactive Waste Management, at DOE Headquarters, and Ms. Corinne J. Macaluso of Ms. Desell's office.

For your additional information, beginning the week of July 12, 1993, Ms. Susan B. Jones, Chief, Regulatory Interactions Branch, YMPO, is designated Acting Deputy Division Director, Regulatory and Site Evaluation Division, and Ms. April Gil is designated Acting Branch Chief, Regulatory Interactions Branch, YMPO.

220012

9307260061 930715 PDR WASTE WM-11PDR

107.8 WM-11 N4103

If you have any questions in this regard, please contact Sharon Skuchko of my office at (202) 586-4590.

Sincerely,

Dwight E. Shelor Associate Director for Systems and Compliance Office of Civilian Radioactive Waste Management

cc:

C. Gertz, YMPO
T. J. Hickey, Nevada Legislative Committee
R. Loux, State of Nevada
D. Bechtel, Las Vegas, NV
Eureka County, NV
Lander County, Battle Mountain, NV
P. Niedzielski-Eichner, Nye County, NV
W. Offutt, Nye County, NV
L. Bradshaw, Nye County, NV
C. Schank, Churchill County, NV
F. Mariani, White Pine County, NV
V. Poe, Mineral County, NV
J. Pitts, Lincoln County, NV
J. Hayes, Esmeralda County, NV
B. Mettam, Inyo County, CA
C. Abrams, NRC
N. White, NRC

R. Carlson, NRC