

Department of Energy

Washington, DC 20585

DEC 0 7 1994

Julie A. Canepa
Technical Project Officer
for Yucca Mountain Site
Characterization Project
Los Alamos National Laboratory
N-5, Mail Stop J521
P.O. Box 1663
Los Alamos, NM 87545

OFFICE OF CIVILIAN RADIOACTIVE WASTE MANAGEMENT QUALITY ASSURANCE (QA) AUDIT YM-AR-95-06 OF LOS ALAMOS NATIONAL LABORATORY (LANL) SUPPORT OF THE YUCCA MOUNTAIN SITE CHARACTERIZATION PROJECT (SCPB: N/A)

Please be advised a team of auditors from the Yucca Mountain Quality Assurance Division will conduct a QA audit of the LANL QA program in Los Alamos, New Mexico, January 9-13, 1995. The audit will be conducted in accordance with the enclosed audit plan.

Observers from the State of Nevada, U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission, and other interested parties may also accompany the audit team.

You are hereby requested to arrange for appropriate space to conduct meetings, provide cognizant personnel to support the audit, and provide audit team access to appropriate current LANL documentation and records.

If you have any questions, please contact either Mario R. Diaz at (702) 794-7974 or Thomas J. Higgins at (702) 794-7173.

OOA:MRD-1097

Donald G. Horton, Director Office of Quality Assurance

RC. Spince For

Enclosure:
Audit Plan YM-AR-95-06

130115

DH031

cc w/encl:

D. A Dreyfus, HQ (RW-1) FORS

L. H. Barrett, HQ (RW-2) FORS

R. Clark, HQ (RW-3.1) FORS

W. L. Belke, NRC, Las Vegas, NV

J. G. Spraub, NRC, Washington, DC

R. R. Loux, NWPO. Carson City, NV

S. W. Zimmerman, NWPO, Carson City, NV

Cyril Schank, Churchill County Commission, Fallon, NV

D. A. Bechtel, Clark County, Las Vegas, NV J. D. Hoffman, Esmeralda County, Goldfield, NV

Eureka County Board of Commissioners, Eureka, NV

Lander County Board of Commissioners, Battle Mountain, NV

Jason Pitts, Lincoln County, Pioche, NV

V. E. Poe, Mineral County, Hawthorne, NV

P. A. Niedzielski-Eichner, Nye County, Chantilly, VA

L. W. Bradshaw, Nye County, Tonopah, NV William Offutt, Nye County, Tonopah, NV

Florindo Mariani, White Pine County, Ely, NV

B. R. Mettam, Inyo County, Independence, CA

C. K. Van House, YMQAD/QATSS, Las Vegas, NV

C. J. Henkel, NEI, Washington, DC