

Department of Energy

Washington, DC 20585

NOV 0 8 1994

QA: L

Larry R. Hayes Technical Project Officer for Yucca Mountain Site Characterization Project U.S. Geological Survey 101 Convention Center Drive Suite 860 Las Vegas, NV 89109

OFFICE OF CIVILIAN RADIOACTIVE WASTE MANAGEMENT (OCRWM) QUALITY ASSURANCE (QA) AUDIT YMP-95P-04 OF U.S. GEOLOGICAL SURVEY (USGS) SUPPORT OF THE YUCCA MOUNTAIN SITE CHARACTERIZATION PROJECT (SCPB: N/A)

Please be advised a team of auditors from the Yucca Mountain Quality Assurance Division will conduct a performance-based QA audit of the USGS QA program in Denver, Colorado, December 5-9, 1994. As requested in your letter of October 18, 1994, the requested date is one week later than the scheduled date identified in Revision 0 of the OCRWM fiscal year 1995 QA Audit Schedule, and is being granted in order to accommodate the conflict noted in your letter. The audit will be conducted in accordance with the enclosed audit plan.

Observers from the State of Nevada, U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission, and other interested parties may also accompany the audit team.

You are hereby requested to arrange for appropriate space to conduct meetings, provide cognizant personnel to support the audit, and provide audit team access to appropriate current USGS documentation and records.

If you have any questions, please contact either Mario R. Diaz at 794-7974 or Richard L. Maudlin at 794-7290.

Donald G. Horton, Director Office of Quality Assurance

OQA:MRD-664

Enclosure: Audit Plan YMP-95-04

9411160078 941108 PDR WASTE WM-11 _____PDR



Printed with soy ink on recycled paper

Larry R. Hayes

cc w/encl: D. A Dreyfus, HQ (RW-1) FORS L. H. Barrett, HQ (RW-2) FORS R. W. Clark, HQ (RW-3.1) FORS W. L. Belke, NRC, Las Vegas, NV G. Spraul, NRC, Washington, DC R. R. Loux, NWPO, Carson City, NV S. W. Zimmerman, NWPO, Carson City, NV Cyril Schank, Churchill County Commission, Fallon, NV D. A. Bechtel, Clark County Comprehensive, Las Vegas, NV J. D. Hoffman, Esmeralda County, Goldfield, NV Eureka County Board of Commissioners, Yucca Mountain Information Office, Eureka, NV Lander County Board of Commissioners, Battle Mountain, NV Jason Pitts, Lincoln County, Pioche, NV V. E. Poe, Mineral County, Hawthorne, NV P. A. Niedzielski-Eichner, Nye County, Chantilly, VA L. W. Bradshaw, Nye County, Tonopah, NV William Offutt, Nye County, Tonopah, NV Florindo Mariani, White Pine County, Ely, NV B. R. Mettam, County of Inyo, Independence, CA C. K. Van House, QATSS/SAIC Las Vegas, NV C. J. Henkel, NEI, Washington, DC

-2-

NOV 0.8 1994