

Department of Energy

Washington, DC 20585

NOV 0 3 1994

James Conway, HQ (EM-343) TREV
Thomas H. Chaney, USGS, Denver, Co
Stephen L. Bolivar, LANL, Los Alamos, NM
Royce E. Monks, LLNL, Livermore, CA
William J. Glasser, REECo, Las Vegas, NV
Ron P. Ruth, M&O/Duke, Las Vegas, NV
Robert A. Morgan, M&O/Duke, Vienna, VA
Robert R. Richards, SNL, 6310, Albuquerque, NM
Kent B. Johnson, SAIC/T&MSS, Las Vegas, NV

PROGRAM QUALITY ASSURANCE MANAGERS MEETING/TRANSMITTAL OF VERIFICATION TRANSITION PLAN

A Program Quality Assurance Managers meeting will be held on November 21, 1994. The meeting will begin at 1:00 p.m. in Room 450 of the Bank of America Building, at 101 Convention Center Drive in Las Vegas, Nevada.

The meeting will be held to discuss the enclosed Transition Plan on "Reengineering of the Quality Assurance (QA) Function on the Office Of Civilian Radioactive Waste Management Program." QA Managers should be prepared to discuss any comments including those generated by the Technical Project Officers. It is the intent to have all appropriate comments incorporated and the document ready for signature prior to the departure of the QA Managers on November 22nd. If you are unable to attend, a representative must be sent who has authority to resolve all comments and sign for acceptance of the plan.

In addition to the November 21st meeting, the below listed QA Managers are requested to attend budget briefings with Richard Spence on November 22nd. Information gathered at these budget briefings will provide the basis for minimization of FY 95 funding relative to the transition effort. It should be noted the review of 1.2.11.3 funding will be based on the original distribution of FY 95 funding as shown on 9/19/94. Recent shifts of funding out of 1.2.11.3 will not be the basis for the evaluation.

Stephen L. Bolivar, LANL	9:00 a.m.
Royce E. Monks, LLNL	10:00 a.m.
Robert R. Richards, SNL	11:00 a.m.
Thomas H. Chaney, USGS	1:00 p.m.
William J. Glasser, REECO	2:00 p.m.
Kent B. Johnson, SAIC/T&MSS	3:00 p.m.



102.71-11

Distribution

-2-

If you have any questions, please contact Catherine E. Hampton at (702)794-7973.

> Donald G. Horton, Director Office of Quality Assurance

OQA:CEH-633

Enclosure:

Transition Plan

cc w/o encl:

R. W. Clark, HQ (RW-3.1) FORS

Wayne Booth, Weston, Washington, DC

Charlie Hansen, HQ (EM-37) FORS Tom Lewallen, DOE, Idaho Falls, ID

L. W. Wagner, OATSS/CER, Washington DC J. G. Spraul, NRC, Washington, DC

W. L. Belke, NRC, Las Vegas, NV S. W. Zimmerman, NWPO, Carson City, NV

Cyril Schank, Churchill County Commission, Fallon, NV

D. A. Bechtel, Clark County Comprehensive, Las Vegas, NV

J. D. Hoffman, Esmeralda County, Goldfield, NV

Eureka County Board of Commissioner,

Yucca Mountain Information Office, Eureka, NV

Jason Pitts, Lincoln County, Pioche, NV

V. E. Poe, Mineral County, Hawthorne, NV P. A. Niedzielski-Eichner, Nye County, Chantilly, VA

L. W. Bradshaw, Nye County, Tonopah, NV William Offutt, Nye County, Tonopah, NV

Florinda Mariani, White Pine County, Ely, NV

B. R. Mettam, County of Inyo, Independence, CA

Colandrea & Associates, San Diego, CA

H. T. Greene, YMOAD/QATSS, Las Vegas, NV R. E. Spence, YMOAD, NV

If you have any questions, please contact Catherine E. Hampton at (702)794-7973.

> Donald G. Horton, Director Office of Quality Assurance

OQA: CEH-633

Enclosure:

Transition Plan

cc w/o encl:

R. W. Clark, HQ (RW-3.1) FORS Wayne Booth, Weston, Washington, DC

Charlie Hansen, HQ (EM-37) FORS Tom Lewallen, DOE, Idaho Falls, ID

L. W. Wagner, QATSS/CER, Washington DC J. G. Spraul, NRC, Washington, DC

W. L. Belke, NRC, Las Vegas, NV

S. W. Zimmerman, NWPO, Carson City, NV

Cyril Schank, Churchill County Commission, Fallon, NV

D. A. Bechtel, Clark County Comprehensive, Las Vegas, NV

J. D. Hoffman, Esmeralda County, Goldfield, NV

Eureka County Board of Commissioner,

Yucca Mountain Information Office, Eureka, NV

Jason Pitts, Lincoln County, Pioche, NV

V. E. Poe, Mineral County, Hawthorne, NV

P. A. Niedzielski-Eichner, Nye County, Chantilly, VA

L. W. Bradshaw, Nye County, Tonopah, NV William Offutt, Nye County, Tonopah, NV

Florinda Mariani, White Pine County, Ely, NV

B. R. Mettam, County of Inyo, Independence, CA

Colandrea & Associates, San Diego, CA

H. T. Greene, YMQAD/QATSS, Las Vegas, NV

R. E. Spence, YMQAD, NV