

## UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

## REGION II SAM NUNN ATLANTA FEDERAL CENTER 61 FORSYTH STREET SW SUITE 23T85 ATLANTA, GEORGIA 30303-8931

May 28, 2003

Florida Power and Light Company ATTN: Mr. J. A. Stall, Senior Vice President Nuclear and Chief Nuclear Officer P. O. Box 14000 Juno Beach, FL 33408-0420

SUBJECT: PUBLIC MEETING ANNOUNCEMENT - FLORIDA POWER & LIGHT AND FPL

ENERGY STATUS MEETING - CATEGORY ONE MEETING -

ST. LUCIE NUCLEAR PLANT, DOCKET NOS. 50-335 AND 50-389 TURKEY POINT NUCLEAR PLANT, DOCKET NOS. 50-250 AND 50-251

SEABROOK NUCLEAR STATION, DOCKET NO. 50-443

Dear Mr. Stall:

This letter confirms the conversation between Mr. Mark Dryden of your staff and Mr. Son Ninh of NRC staff on May 27, 2003, concerning a management meeting (Category One public meeting) which is scheduled for June 11, 2003, at 8:30 a.m. (EST). The purpose of the meeting is to discuss current site performance and strategic issues, and is being conducted at your request. The location of the meeting will be at FPL Corporate Offices at 700 Universe Blvd. in Juno Beach, Florida. The meeting will be an open meeting in accordance with "NRC's Policy Statement for Enhancing Public Participation in NRC Meetings," May 28, 2002 (Federal Register Volume 67, Number 102, 36920-36924).

In accordance with 10 CFR 2.790 of the NRC's "Rules of Practice," a copy of this letter will be available electronically for public inspection in the NRC Public Document Room or from the Publicly Available Records (PARS) component of NRC's document system (ADAMS). ADAMS is accessible from the NRC Web site at <a href="http://www.nrc.gov/reading-rm/adams.html">http://www.nrc.gov/reading-rm/adams.html</a> (the Public Electronic Reading Room).

Should you have any questions concerning this meeting, please contact me at (404) 562-4560.

Sincerely,

//RA by Son Ninh for//

Joel T. Munday, Chief Reactor Projects Branch 3 Division of Reactor Projects

Docket Nos.: 50-335, 50-389, 50-250, 50-251, 50-443 License Nos.: DPR-67, NPF-16, DPR-31, DPR-41, NPF-86

cc: D. E. Jernigan
Site Vice President
St. Lucie Nuclear Plant
Florida Power & Light Company
Electronic Mail Distribution

R. E. Rose
Plant General Manager
St. Lucie Nuclear Plant
Electronic Mail Distribution

Kelly J. Korth
Licensing Manager
St. Lucie Nuclear Plant
Electronic Mail Distribution

Don Mothena, Manager Nuclear Plant Support Services Florida Power & Light Company Electronic Mail Distribution

Mark Dryden
Administrative Support & Special
Projects
Florida Power & Light Company
Electronic Mail Distribution

Rajiv S. Kundalkar Vice President - Nuclear Engineering Florida Power & Light Company Electronic Mail Distribution

M. S. Ross, Attorney
Florida Power & Light Company
Electronic Mail Distribution

William A. Passetti Bureau of Radiation Control Department of Health Electronic Mail Distribution

(Cont'd See Page 3)

CC:

Craig Fugate, Director
Division of Emergency
Preparedness
Department of Community Affairs
Electronic Mail Distribution

J. Kammel
Radiological Emergency
Planning Administrator
Department of Public Safety
Electronic Mail Distribution

Douglas Anderson County Administrator St. Lucie County 2300 Virginia Avenue Ft. Pierce, FL 34982

T. O. Jones
Site Vice President
Turkey Point Nuclear Plant
Florida Power and Light Company
Electronic Mail Distribution

Walter Parker
Licensing Manager
Turkey Point Nuclear Plant
Florida Power and Light Company
Electronic Mail Distribution

Jim Reed
Document Control Supervisor
Florida Power & Light Company
Electronic Mail Distribution

Attorney General
Department of Legal Affairs
The Capitol
Tallahassee, FL 32304

County Manager Metropolitan Dade County Electronic Mail Distribution

cc: Curtis Ivy

City Manager of Homestead Electronic Mail Distribution

Mr. Mark E Warner c/o James M. Peschel FPL Energy Seabrook, LLC Seabrook Station P.O. Box 300 Seabrook, NH 03874

Mr James M Peschel Regulatory Programs Manager Seabrook Station FPL Energy Seabrook, LLC P.O. Box 300 Seabrook, NH 03874

Mr Gene F St Pierre Station Director Seabrook Station FPL Energy Seabrook, LLC P.O. Box 300 Seabrook, NH 03874

Mr Daniel G Roy Nuclear Training Manager Seabrook Station FPL Energy Seabrook, LLC P.O. Box 300 Seabrook, NH 03874

Mr Phillip T. Mclaughlin Attorney General Steven M. Houran Deputy Attorney General 33 Capitol Street Concord, NH 03301

Robert Backus - Esquire Backus Meyer Solomon And Rood P.O. Box 516 116 Lowell Street Manchester, NH 03106-0516

cc: (Cont'd See Page 4)

Mr R Hallisey - Director Depart of Public Health Commonwealth of Massachusetts Radiation Control Program 305 South St - 7th Floor Jamaica Plain, MA 02130

Commonwealth of Massachusetts
Diane Brown-couture - Director
Nuclear Safety
Massachusetts Emergency
Management Agency
400 Worchester Road
Framingham, MA 01702-5309

Diane Tefft - Administrator Bureau of Radiological Health Division of Public Health Services 6 Hazen Drive Concord, NH 03301-6521

Mr S Comley We The People of The United States Box 277 Rowley, MA 01969

Mary Metcalf Seacoast Anti-pollution League P.O. Box 1136 Portsmouth, NH 03802

Mr W D Meinert - Nuclear Engineer Massachusetts Municipal Wholesale Electric Company P.O. Box 426 Ludlow, MA 01056-0426

Mr Daniel A Craig - Regional Director FEMA Region I J W Mccormack Post Office And Courthouse Building Room 442 Boston, MA 02109

cc: Mr Donald Bliss - Director New Hampshire Office of Emergency Management State Office Park South 107 Pleasant Street Concord, NH 03301

> Mr Raymond Shadis New England Coalition Staff P.O. Box 98 Edgecomb, MA 04556

Mr Peter Brann Assistant Attorney General State House Station #6 Augusta, ME 04333

Town of Exeter 10 Front Street Exeter, NH 03823

Office of The Attorney General One Ashburton Place 20<sup>th</sup> Floor Boston, MA 02108

Board of Selectmen Town of Amesbury Town Hall Amesbury, MA 01913

Mr Stephen McGrail, Director Attn: James Muckerheide Massachusetts Emergency Management Agency 400 Worcester Road Framingham, MA 01702-5399

D. Mc Elhinney, RAC Chairman FEMA Region I J W Mccormack Post Office and Courthouse Building Room 442 Boston, MA 02109

Mr Jack Devine
Polestar Applied Technology
One First Street, Suite 4
Los Altos, CA 94019

## **Distribution**:

E. Brown, NRR

B. Moroney, NRR

V. Nerses, NRR

H. Miller, RI

G. Dentel, RI

Meeting Announcement Coordinator, OADM/DFIPS (PMNS)

Region I & Region II Administrator Secretaries

Region I & Region II DRP Division Secretaries

Region I & Region II Division Directors and Deputies

Region I & Region II Regional Counsels

Region I & Region II Public Affairs Officers

Region I & Region II State Liaison Officers

Region II Receptionist

S. Richards, DISP/PIPB

Region I & Region II Regional Coordinators, OEDO

**Headquarters Operations Officers** 

**RIDSNRRDIPMLIPB** 

**PUBLIC** 

| OFFICE          | DRP/RII  |    |     |    |     |    |     |    |     |    |     |    |     | <u></u> |
|-----------------|----------|----|-----|----|-----|----|-----|----|-----|----|-----|----|-----|---------|
| SIGNATURE       | SON      |    |     |    |     |    |     |    |     |    |     |    |     |         |
| NAME            | SNINH    |    |     |    |     |    |     |    |     |    |     |    |     |         |
| DATE            | 5/ 28/03 |    |     |    |     |    |     |    |     |    |     |    |     |         |
| E-MAIL COPY?    | YES      | NO | YES | NO | YES | NO | YES | NO | YES | NO | YES | NO | YES | NO      |
| PUBLIC DOCUMENT | YES      | NO |     |    |     |    |     |    |     |    |     |    |     |         |