

Department of Energy

Washington, DC 20585

QA: L

AUG 25 1994

L. Dale Foust
Technical Project Officer
for Yucca Mountain
Site Characterization Project
TRW Environmental Safety Systems, Inc.
Bank of America Center, Suite P-110
101 Convention Center Drive
Las Vegas, NV 89109

OFFICE OF CIVILIAN RADIOACTIVE WASTE MANAGEMENT (OCRWM) QUALITY ASSURANCE (QA) AUDIT YMP-94-01 OF THE CIVILIAN RADIOACTIVE WASTE MANAGEMENT SYSTEM MANAGEMENT AND OPERATING CONTRACTOR SUPPORT OF THE YUCCA MOUNTAIN SITE CHARACTERIZATION PROJECT (SCPB: N/A)

Enclosed is the report of OCRWM QA Audit YMP-94-01. The audit was conducted by the Yucca Mountain Quality Assurance Division of the Office of Quality Assurance (OQA) in Las Vegas, Nevada, during the period of July 25-29, 1994.

During the course of the audit, the audit team generated 15 OCRWM Corrective Action Requests (CAR). Responses to the CARs (which were transmitted via separate letter) are due by the dates indicated in Block 13 of the CARs. In addition, a response to documented recommendations in this audit report is required. It is requested that the responses to the recommendations be provided to YMQAD within 30 days of receipt of this report.

The audit will be considered completed and closed upon response to the recommendations detailed in Section 6.0 of this report. Any open CARs will continue to be tracked until they have been closed to the satisfaction of the QA representative and the Director, OQA.

If you have any questions, please contact Mario R. Diaz at 794-7974 or Kenneth O. Gilkerson at 794-7738.

Donald G. Horton, Director Office of Quality Assurance

R. C. Spince

OQA:MRD-4782

Enclosure:
Audit Report YMP-94-01

1

Printed with soy ink on recycled paper

NHO3 11 WM-11 102.7 cc w/encl:

D. A. Dreyfus, HQ (RW-1) FORS

L. H. Barrett, HQ (RW-2) FORS

R. W. Clark, HQ (RW-3.1) FORS

W. L. Belke, NRC, Las Vegas, NV

R. L. Johnson NRC, Washington, DC

R. R. Loux, NWPO, Carson City, NV

S. W. Zimmerman, NWPO, Carson City, NV

Cyril Schank, Churchill County Commission, Fallon, NV

D. A. Bechtel, Clark County Comprehensive, Las Vegas, NV

J. D. Hoffman, Esmeralda County, Goldfield, NV

Eureka County Board of Commissioners,

Yucca Mountain Information Office, Eureka, NV Lander County Board of Commissioners, Battle Mountain, NV Jason Pitts, Lincoln County, Pioche, NV

V. E. Poe, Mineral County, Hawthorne, NV

P. A. Niedzielski-Eichner, Nye County, Chantilly, VA

L. W. Bradshaw, Nye County, Tonopah, NV William Offutt, Nye County, Tonopah, NV

Florindo Mariani, White Pine County, Ely, NV

B. R. Mettam, County of Inyo, Independence, CA

Mifflin and Associates, Las Vegas, NV

S. L. Bolivar, LANL, Los Alamos, NM

R. E. Monks, LLNL, Livermore, CA

R. P. Ruth, M&O/Duke, Las Vegas, NV

W. J. Glasser, REECo, Las Vegas, NV

D. J. Tunney, RSN, Las Vegas, NV

R. R. Richards, SNL, Albuquerque, NM, M/S 1333

T. H. Chaney, USGS, Denver, CO

K. B. Johnson, SAIC, Las Vegas, NV

C. K. Van House, QATSS/SAIC, Las Vegas, NV

R. L. Maudlin, QATSS/CER, Las Vegas, NV

C. J. Henkel, NEI, Washington, DC