

Department of Energy

Washington, DC 20585

OCT 1 8 1994

Les E. Shephard
Technical Project Officer
for Yucca Mountain
Site Characterization Project
Sandia National Laboratories
P.O. Box 5800, Mail Stop 1333
Albuquerque, NM 87185

OFFICE OF CIVILIAN RADIOACTIVE WASTE MANAGEMENT QUALITY ASSURANCE (QA) AUDIT YMP-95-03 OF SANDIA NATIONAL LABORATORIES (SNL) SUPPORT OF THE YUCCA MOUNTAIN SITE CHARACTERIZATION PROJECT (SCPB: N/A)

Please be advised a team of auditors from the Yucca Mountain Quality Assurance Division will conduct a QA audit of the SNL QA program in Albuquerque, New Mexico, November 14-18, 1994. The audit will be conducted in accordance with the enclosed audit plan.

Observers from the State of Nevada, U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission, and other interested parties may also accompany the audit team.

You are hereby requested to arrange for appropriate space to conduct meetings, provide cognizant personnel to support the audit, and provide audit team access to appropriate current SNL documentation and records.

If you have any questions, please contact Mario R. Diaz at (702) 794-7974 or Richard L. Weeks at (702) 794-7853.

Donald G. Horton, Director

Office of Quality Assurance

OQA:MRD-303

Enclosure:
Audit Plan YMP-95-03

250007

7410270102 741018 PDR WASTE WM-11 PDR



102.7 Wm-11 NH03' cc w/encl:

D. A Dreyfus, HQ (RW-1) FORS

L. H. Barrett, HQ (RW-2) FORS

R. W. Clark, HQ (RW-3.1) FORS

W. L. Belke, NRC, Las Vegas, NV

R. R. Loux, NWPO, Carson City, NV

S. W. Zimmerman, NWPO, Carson City, NV

Cyril Schank, Churchill County Commission, Fallon, NV

D. A. Bechtel, Clark County Comprehensive, Las Vegas, NV J. D. Hoffman, Esmeralda County, Goldfield, NV

Eureka County Board of Commissioners,

Yucca Mountain Information Office, Eureka, NV Lander County Board of Commissioners, Battle Mountain, NV Jason Pitts, Lincoln County, Pioche, NV

V. E. Poe, Mineral County, Hawthorne, NV

P. A. Niedzielski-Eichner, Nye County, Chantilly, VA

L. W. Bradshaw, Nye County, Tonopah, NV William Offutt, Nye County, Tonopah, NV

Florindo Mariani, White Pine County, Ely, NV

B. R. Mettam, County of Inyo, Independence, CA

C. K. Van House, QATSS/SAIC Las Vegas, NV
C. J. Henkel, NEI, Washington, DC