

Department of Energy

Yucca Mountain Site Characterization Project Office P. O. Box 98608 Las Vegas, NV 89193-8608

WBS 1.2.11 QA: N/A

AUG 0 3 1993

L. Dale Foust
Technical Project Officer
for Yucca Mountain
Site Characterization Project
TRW Environmental Safety Systems, Inc.
Bank of America Center, Suite P-110
101 Convention Center Drive
Las Vegas, NV 89109

ISSUANCE OF SURVEILLANCE REPORT YMP-SR-93-033 RESULTING FROM YUCCA MOUNTAIN QUALITY ASSURANCE DIVISION (YMQAD) SURVEILLANCE OF THE CIVILIAN RADIOACTIVE WASTE MANAGEMENT SYSTEM MANAGEMENT AND OPERATING CONTRACTOR (CRWMS M&O) (SCP: N/A)

Enclosed is the report of Surveillance YMP-SR-93-033 conducted by the YMQAD at the CRWMS M&O facilities in Las Vegas, Nevada, on July 15, 1993.

The purpose of the surveillance was to review the design control process utilized for the generation and processing of drawings involving the revision of the slope of the Exploratory Studies Facility Starter Tunnel. Four Corrective Action Requests (CAR) were generated as a result of this surveillance. Three of the CARs were issued to CRWMS M&O and one CAR was issued to the Yucca Mountain Site Characterization Project Office. Responses to the CARs (which were transmitted via separate letter) are due by the date indicated in Block 11 of the CARs. A response to this surveillance report is not necessary.

This surveillance is considered completed and closed as of the date of this letter; however, any open CARs will continue to be tracked until they are closed to the satisfaction of the quality assurance representative and the Director, YMQAD.

If you have any questions, please contact either Robert B. Constable at 794-7945 or Gerard Heaney at 794-7826.

OQA:RBC-5354

Donald G. Horton, Director Office of Quality Assurance

Enclosure:

Surveillance Report YMP-SR-93-033

11004/ 9308120220 930803 PDR WASTE WM-11 PDR

ADD: Ken Hooks 1

102.7 WM-11 NH03 cc w/encl:

L. H. Barrett, HQ (RW-1) FORS R. W. Clark, HQ (RW-3.1) FORS

Trudy Wood, HQ (RW-52) FORS

J. W. Gilray, NRC, Las Vegas, NV K. R. Hooks, NRC, Washington, DC R. R. Loux, NWPO, Carson City, NV

Cyril Schank, Churchill County Commission, Fallon, NV D. A. Bechtel, Clark County Comprehensive, Las Vegas, NV J. D. Hoffman, Esmeralda County, Goldfield, NV Eureka County Board of Commissioners,

Yucca Mountain Information Office, Eureka, NV Lander County Board of Commissioners, Battle Mountain, NV Jason Pitts, Lincoln County, Pioche, NV

V. E. Poe, Mineral County, Hawthorne, NV

P. A. Niedzielski-Eichner, Nye County, Chantilly, VA

L. W. Bradshaw, Nye County, Tonopah, NV William Offutt, Nye County, Tonopah, NV

Florindo Mariani, White Pine County, Ely, NV B. R. Mettam, County of Inyo, Independence, CA S. L. Bolivar, LANL, Los Alamos, NM R. E. Monks, LLNL, Livermore, CA

J. A. Jackson, M&O/TRW, Las Vegas, NV

W. J. Glasser, REECo, Las Vegas, NV D. J. Tunney, RSN, Las Vegas, NV

R. R. Richards, SNL, 6319, Albuquerque, NM

T. H. Chaney, USGS, Denver, CO J. B. Harper, SAIC, Las Vegas, NV N. J. Brogan, QATSS, Las Vegas, NV

R. L. Maudlin, QATSS, Las Vegas, NV C. J. Henkel, EEI, Las Vegas, NV

J. L. Robertson, M&O/TRW, Vienna, VA

102.8