

Department of Energy

Washington, DC 20585 OCT 25 1993

Dr. Michelle C. Brady
Department Manager
Transportation System Development Department
Sandia National Laboratories
Albuquerque, NM 87185

Office of Civilian Radioactive Waste Management (OCRWM) Quality Assurance (QA) Audit HQ-94-01 of Sandia National Laboratories (SNL)

Dear Dr. Brady:

Please be advised that a team from OCRWM, Office of Quality Assurance (OQA), will conduct a QA audit of the SNL Transportation System Development Department (TSDD) QA Program during the period of November 8-12, 1993. The audit team will evaluate the SNL QA Program and implementing procedures from an adequacy, compliance, and effectiveness standpoint in accordance with the enclosed Audit Plan.

Current plans for the audit team include the conduct of a preaudit meeting on Monday, November 8, 1993 beginning at 3:00 p.m., at SNL facilities in Albuquerque, NM. Please arrange for the appropriate personnel to attend the meeting. The postaudit meeting is tentatively scheduled for 10:00 on Friday, November 12, 1993.

Observers representing the Department of Energy, State of Nevada, U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission, and other interested parties may also be accompanying the team. You will be notified of these observers prior to the audit.

If you have any questions, please contact Robert Clark at (202) 586-1238 or Thomas Swift at (703) 841-1382.

Sincerely,

Donald G. Horton, Director

Office of Quality Assurance

P.W. (2

Enclosure

040075

9311050162 931025 PDR WASTE WM-11 PDR

Ur. Enel.

102.7 WM-11 NH03

ADD: Ken Hooks

cc:

- L. Barrett, RW-2
- D. Dreyfus, RW-1
- R. Clark, RW-3.1
- T. Johnson, RW-3.1
- D. Spence, RW-3.2
- W. Lake, RW-431
- R. Milner, RW-40
- R. Minning, RW-53
- L. Wagner, QATSS-VA
- S. Zimmerman, Carson City, NV
- R. Loux, Carson City, NV
- C. Schank, Churchill Co., NV
- J. Bingham, Clark Co., NV
- D. Betchel, Clark Co., NV
- E. von Teisenhausen, Clark Co., NV
- J. Hayes, Esmeralda Co., NV
- L. Fiorenzi, Eureka Co., NV
- B. Mettam, Inyo Co.
- R. Michener, Inyo Co.
- G. Derby, Lander Co.
- J. Pitts, Lincoln Co.
- M. Baughman, Lincoln Co.
- V. Poe, Mineral Co.
- L. Bradshaw, Nye Co.
- P. Niedzielski-Eichner, Nye Co.
- K. Hooks, NRC
- F. Sperry, White Pine Co.
- W. Mings, DOE-ID
- H. Greene, QATSS-LV
- R. Robertson, TRW
- R. M. Baehr, SNL QA, Dept. 6603
- R. E. Luna, SNL, Dept 6603
- K. Svinicki, DOE-ID