



Department of Energy

Washington, DC 20585

WBS 1.2.11 QA: N/A

SEP 0 9 1993

L. Dale Foust Technical Project Officer for Yucca Mountain Site Characterization Project TRW Environmental Safety Systems, Inc. Bank of America Center, Suite P-110 101 Convention Center Drive Las Vegas, NV 89109

ISSUANCE OF SURVEILLANCE REPORT YMP-SR-93-038 RESULTING FROM YUCCA MOUNTAIN QUALITY ASSURANCE DIVISION (YMQAD) SURVEILLANCE OF THE CIVILIAN RADIOACTIVE WASTE MANAGEMENT SYSTEM MANAGEMENT AND OPERATING CONTRACTOR (SCP: N/A)

Enclosed is the report of Surveillance YMP-SR-93-038 conducted by the YMQAD at the Field Operations Center, Yucca Mountain, Nevada, on August 11, 1993.

The purpose of the surveillance was performed to assess procedural implementation and compliance to the requirements of Administrative Procedure 5.27Q with regard to the adequacy of the disposition and the technical justification on Nonconformance Reports that were dispositioned "repair" or "use-as-is."

No Corrective Action Requests were generated as a result of this surveillance. A response to this surveillance report is not necessary.

This surveillance is considered completed and closed as of the date of this letter.

If you have any questions, please contact either Robert B. Constable at 794-7945 or Fred H. Lofftus at 794-7190.

Donald G. Horton, Director Office of Quality Assurance

OQA: RBC-5963

Enclosure: Surveillance Report YMP-SR-93-038

-102.7 WM-11 12/1

Ur. God.

140025

9309140423 930909 PDR WASTE WM-11 PDR

ADD. Ken Hooks

L. Dale Foust

CCRU (2)

cc w/encl: L. H. Barrett, HQ (RW-1) FORS R. W. Clark, HQ (RW-3.1) FORS Trudy Wood, HQ (RW-52) FORS J. W. Gilray, NRC, Las Vegas, NV *K. R. Hooks, NRC, Washington, DC R. R. Loux, NWPO, Carson City, NV Cyril Schank, Churchill County Commission, Fallon, NV D. A. Bechtel, Clark County Comprehensive, Las Vegas, NV J. D. Hoffman, Esmeralda County, Goldfield, NV Eureka County Board of Commissioners, Yucca Mountain Information Office, Eureka, NV Lander County Board of Commissioners, Battle Mountain, NV Jason Pitts, Lincoln County, Pioche, NV V. E. Poe, Mineral County, Hawthorne, NV P. A. Niedzielski-Eichner, Nye County, Chantilly, VA L. W. Bradshaw, Nye County, Tonopah, NV William Offutt, Nye County, Tonopah, NV Florindo Mariani, White Pine County, Ely, NV B. R. Mettam, County of Inyo, Independence, CA S. L. Bolivar, LANL, Los Alamos, NM R. E. Monks, LLNL, Livermore, CA R. A. Morgan, MGO/TRW, Vienna, VA J. A. Jackson, MGO/TRW, Las Vegas, NV W. J. Glasser, REECo, Las Vegas, NV M. J. Glasser, RECO, Las Vegas, NV N. J. Brogan, QATSS, Las Vegas, NV N. J. Brogan, QATSS, Las Vegas, NV R. L. Maudlin, QATSS, Las Vegas, NV C. J. Henkel, EEI, Las Vegas, NV C. J. Henkel, EEI, Las Vegas, NV

-2-