memorandum

DATE:

JULY 12, 1994

REPLY TO

RW-3

SUBJECT:

OFFICE OF CIVILIAN RADIOACTIVE WASTE MANAGEMENT (OCRWM) QUALITY ASSURANCE (QA) AUDIT HQ-94-04 OF YUCCA MOUNTAIN SITE CHARACTERIZATION OFFICE (YMSCO) ACTIVITIES INCLUDING THE SAMPLE MANAGEMENT FACILITY (SMF)

TO:

Robert M. Nelson, Jr., Acting Project Manager, Yucca Mountain Site Characterization Project Office (YMSCO)

Please be advised that a team of auditors from the Office of Quality Assurance, Headquarters Quality Assurance Division (HQAD), will conduct a QA audit of the Yucca Mountain Site Characterization Office QA Program and implementation in Las Vegas, Nevada, July 25 through 29, 1994. The audit will be conducted in accordance with the enclosed audit plan.

Observers from the State of Nevada, U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission, and other interested parties may also accompany the audit team. Please note that the scope of this audit may include activities being performed at the site office located at the Nevada Test Site, Mercury, Nevada.

You are requested to arrange for appropriate space to conduct meetings, provide cognizant personnel to support the audit, and provide audit team access to appropriate current YMSCO documentation and records.

If you have any questions, please contact Bob Clark, Director HQAD at (202) 586-1238 or Marlin L. Horseman of QATSS at (202) 488-5436.

Donald G. Horton, Director Office of Quality Assurance

Attachment

190050

9407200171 940712 PDR WASTE

PDR

Add: Sell Belke NH03 WM-11 102.8 cc w/encl:

D. A. Dreyfus, HQ (RW-1) FORS

R. Spence, YMSCO (RW-3.2) Las Vegas, NV

J. W. Gilray, NRC, Las Vegas, NV

W. L. Belke, NRC, Washington, DC

R. R. Loux, NWPO, Carson City, NV

S. W. Zimmerman, NWPO, Carson City, NV

Cyril Schank, Churchill County Commission, Fallon, NV

D. A. Bechtel, Clark County Comprehensive, Las Vegas, NV

J. D. Hoffman, Esmeralda County, Goldfield, NV

Eureka County Board of Commissioners, Yucca Mountain Information Office, Eureka, NV Lander County Board of Commissioners, Battle Mountain, NV

Jason Pitts, Lincoln County, Pioche, NV

V. E. Poe, Mineral County, Hawthorne, NV

P. A. Niedzielski-Eichner, Nye County, Chantilly, VA

L. W. Bradshaw, Nye County, Tonopah, NV

William Offutt, Nye County, Tonopah, NV

Florindo Mariani, White Pine County, Ely, NV

B. R. Mettam, County of Inyo, Independence, CA

C. K. Van House, YMQAD/QATSS, Las Vegas, NV

C. J. Henkel, NEI, Las Vegas, NV