

Department of Energy

Washington, DC 20585

MAY 1 7 1993

WBS 1.2.11 OA: N/A

Robert F. Pritchett Technical Project Officer for Yucca Mountain Site Characterization Project Reynolds Electrical and Engineering Co., Inc. P.O. Box 98521 Las Vegas, NV 89193-8521

ISSUANCE OF SURVEILLANCE REPORT YMP-SR-93-021 RESULTING FROM YUCCA MOUNTAIN QUALITY ASSURANCE DIVISION (YMQAD) SURVEILLANCE OF REYNOLDS ELECTRICAL & ENGINEERING CO., (REECO) (SCP: N/A)

Enclosed is the report of Surveillance YMP-SR-93-021 conducted by the YMQAD at the REECo Quality Control Office at the Yucca Mountain Field Operations Center facilities at the Nevada Test Site on April 29 and May 5, 1993.

The purpose of the surveillance was to verify that the implementation of the first line Quality Control (QC) inspection process was being conducted in accordance with REECo Procedure MC-09.1, Revision 2, titled, "Inspection Planning and Performance."

The overall implementation of REECo's QC inspection process appears to be satisfactory at this time. No Corrective Action Requests were generated as a result of this surveillance. Section 6.0 of the enclosed report contains several recommendations for your staff to consider. A response to this surveillance report is not necessary.

This surveillance is considered completed and closed as of the date of this letter.

If you have any questions, please contact either Robert B. Constable at (702) 794-7945 or Gerard Heaney at (702) 794-7826.

Spince For

OQA: RBC-4204

Donald G. Horton, Director Office of Quality Assurance

Enclosure: Surveillance Report YMP-SR-93-021

250049

102.7 // um-11 //

9306010108 930517 PDR WASTE PDR WM-11

ADD: Ken HOOK . End.

Robert F. Pritchett

-2-

cc w/encl: L. H. Barrett, HQ (RW-1) FORS R. W. Clark, HQ (RW-3.1) FORS D. G. Horton, HQ (RW-3) FORS J. W. Gilray, NRC, Las Vegas, NV K. R. Hooks, NRC, Washington, DC R. R. Loux, NWPO, Carson City, NV Cyril Schank, Churchill County Commission, Fallon, NV D. A. Bechtel, Clark County Comprehensive, Las Vegas, NV J. D. Hoffman, Esmeralda County, Goldfield, NV Eureka County Board of Commissioners, Yucca Mountain Information Office, Eureka, NV Lander County Board of Commissioners, Battle Mountain, NV Jason Pitts, Lincoln County, Pioche, NV V. E. Poe, Mineral County, Hawthorne, NV P. A. Niedzielski-Eichner, Nye County, Chantilly, VA L. W. Bradshaw, Nye County, Tonopah, NV William Offutt, Nye County, Tonopah, NV Florindo Mariani, White Pine County, Ely, NV B. R. Mettam, County of Inyo, Independence, CA S. L. Bolivar, LANL, Los Alamos, NM W. L. Clarke, LLNL, Livermore, CA J. A. Jackson, M&O/TRW, Las Vegas, NV C. C. Warren, MACTEC, Las Vegas, NV W. J. Glasser, REECo, Las Vegas, NV D. J. Tunney, RSN, Las Vegas, NV R. R. Richards, SNL, 6319, Albuquerque, NM T. H. Chaney, USGS, Denver, CO J. B. Harper, SAIC, Las Vegas, NV N. J. Brogan, SAIC, Las Vegas, NV C. J. Henkel, EEI, Las Vegas, NV