

Department of Energy

Washington, DC 20585

WBS 1.2.9.3 QA

'**OCT** 2 0 1997

Michael D. Voegele Technical Project Officer for Yucca Mountain Site Characterization Project Science Applications International Corporation The Valley Bank Center, Suite 407 101 Convention Center Drive Las Vegas, NV 89109

OFFICE OF CIVILIAN RADIOACTIVE WASTE MANAGEMENT (OCRWM) QUALITY ASSURANCE (QA) AUDIT YMP-92-23 OF SCIENCE APPLICATIONS INTERNATIONAL CORPORATION SUPPORT OF THE YUCCA MOUNTAIN SITE CHARACTERIZATION PROJECT

Enclosed is the report for OCRWM QA Audit YMP-92-23. The audit was conducted by the Yucca Mountain Quality Assurance Division of the Office of Quality Assurance (OQA) in Las Vegas, Nevada, and at the Nevada Test Site during the period September 14-18, 1992.

During the course of the audit, the audit team generated three OCRWM Corrective Action Requests (CAR). Responses to the CARs (which were transmitted via separate letter) are due by the date indicated in Block 11 of the CARs. A response to this audit report is not necessary.

The audit is considered completed and closed as of the date of this letter; however, any open CARs will continue to be tracked until they are closed to the satisfaction of the QA representative and the Director, OQA.

If you have any questions, please contact either Mario R. Diaz at 794-7974 or Charles C. Warren at 794-7248.

R.C. Splace For

Donald G. Horton, Director Office of Quality Assurance

OQA:MRD-386

Enclosure: Audit Report YMP-92-23

030079

	9211060097 PDR WASTE WM-11	921020	:
		PDR	:

ADO: Ken Hooks Lor. Encl. WM-11 ADO: Ken Hooks

Michael D. Voegele

OCT 2 0 1992

-2-

cc w/encl: J. W. Bartlett, HQ (RW-1) FORS D. G. Horton, HQ (RW-3) FORS R. W. Clark, HQ (RW-3.1) FORS J. W. Gilray, NRC, Las Vegas, NV CK. R. Hooks, NRC, Washington, DC R. R. LOUX, NWPO, Carson City, NV S. W. Zimmerman, NWPO, Carson City, NV J. T. Regan, Churchill County Commission, Fallon, NV D. A. Bechtel, Clark County Comprehensive, Las Vegas, NV J. D. Hayes, Esmeralda County Commission, Goldfield, NV L. J. Fiorenzi, Eureka County, Eureka, NV Gloria Derby, Lander County Commission, Battle Mountain, NV R. H. Williams, Jr., Lander County, Austin, NV E. E. Wright, Lincoln County Commission, Fiskdale, MA Jason Pitts, Lincoln County Commission, Pioche, NV Judith Foremaster, City of Caliente, Caliente, NV V. E. Poe, Mineral County, Hawthorne, NV B. J. Raper, Nye County Commission, Pahrump, NV P. A. Niedzielski-Eichner, Nye County, Chantilly, VA Florindo Mariani, White Pine County, Ely, NV B. R. Mettam, County of Inyo, Independence, CA S. L. Bolivar, LANL, Los Alamos, NM D. W. Wolfe, LLNL, Livermore, CA J. A. Jackson, M&O/TRW, Las Vegas, NV J. H. Rusk, MACTEC, Las Vegas, NV C. C. Warren, MACTEC, Las Vegas, NV W. J. Glasser, REECo, Las Vegas, NV M. J. Regenda, RSN, Las Vegas, NV R. R. Richards, SNL, 6310, Albuquerque, NM J. B. Harper, SAIC, Las Vegas, NV, 517/T-38 P. L. Osborne, SAIC, Las Vegas, NV, 517/T-08 T. H. Chaney, USGS, Denver, CO C. P. Gertz, YMP, NV

cc w/o encl: M. P. Hayes, Esmeralda County Commission, Goldfield, NV