

Department of Energy

Washington, DC 20585

JUN 2 9 1992

WBS 1.2.9.3 QA

Michael D. Voegele Technical Project Officer for Yucca Mountain Site Characterization Project Science Applications International Corporation The Valley Bank Center, Suite 407 101 Convention Center Drive Las Vegas, NV 89109

OFFICE OF CIVILIAN RADIOACTIVE WASTE MANAGEMENT (OCRWM) QUALITY ASSURANCE (QA) AUDIT YMP-92-16 OF SCIENCE APPLICATIONS INTERNATIONAL CORPORATION SUPPORT OF THE YUCCA MOUNTAIN SITE CHARACTERIZATION PROJECT

Enclosed is the report of the OCRWM limited-scope QA audit YMP-92-16 that was conducted in Las Vegas, Nevada, and at the Nevada Test Site, Mercury, Nevada, during the period May 18-22, 1992, by the Yucca Mountain Quality Assurance Division.

Two OCRWM Corrective Action Requests (CAR) were issued as a result of the audit. The response to these CARs (which were transmitted via separate letter) is due as dated on each CAR. Five conditions adverse to quality were corrected during the audit, and CARs were not issued. The audit is considered closed as of the date of this letter; however, any open CARs will continue to be tracked until each one has been closed to the satisfaction of the QA representative and the Director, Office of Quality Assurance.

If you have any questions, please contact either Mario R. Diaz at 794-7974 or Richard L. Maudlin at 794-7290.

00A:MRD-4104

<u>060020</u> 080112 920629 WASTE

Enclosure: Audit Report YMP-92-16 IN JACKET

PDR

Spince For

Donald G. Horton, Director Office of Quality assurance

ADD: Ken HODKS,

102.11 WM-11 NH031

Michael D. Voegele

JUN 2 9 1992

cc w/encl: J. W. Bartlett, HQ (RW-1) FORS D. G. Horton, HQ (RW-3) FORS R. W. Clark, HQ (RW-3.1) FORS Trudy Wood, HQ (RW-52) FORS J. W. Gilray, NRC, Las Vegas, NV K. R. Hooks, NRC, Washington, DC R. R. Loux, NWPO, Carson City, NV S. W. Zimmerman, NWPO, Carson City, NV J. T. Regan, Churchill County Commission, Fallon, NV D. A. Bechtel, Clark County Comprehensive, Las Vegas, NV J. D. Hayes, Esmeralda County Commission, Goldfield, NV C. Bleuss, Eureka County Commission, Eureka, NV Gloria Derby, Lander County Commission, Battle Mountain, NV R. H. Williams, Jr., Lander County Commission, Austin, NV M. L. Baughman, Lincoln County Commission, Fiskdale, MA Jason Pitts, Lincoln County Commission, Pioche, NV Judy Foremaster, Lincoln County Commission, Caliente, NV V. E. Poe, Mineral County Commission, Hawthorne, NV S. T. Bradhurst, Nye County Commission, Reno, NV P. A. Niedzielski-Eichner, Nye County Consultant, Chantilly, VA Florindo Mariani, White Pine County Commission, Ely, NV Brad Mettam, County of Inyo, Independence, CA S. L. Bolivar, LANL, Los Alamos, NM Dean Wolfe, LLNL, Livermore, CA J. A. Jackson, M&O/TRW, Las Vegas, NV W. J. Glasser, REECo, Las Vegas, NV M. J. Regenda, RSN, Las Vegas, NV R. R. Richards, SNL, 6310, Albuquerque, NM S. R. Dippner, SAIC, Las Vegas, NV, 517/T-08 T. H. Chaney, USGS, Denver, CO C. P. Gertz, YMP, NV

-2-

cc w/o encl: M. Hayes, Esmeralda County Commission, Goldfield, NV