

Department of Energy Washington, DC 20585

WBS 1.2.11.3 OA

FEB 2 5 1993

Carl P. Gertz, Project Manager, YMP, NV

OFFICE OF CIVILIAN RADIOACTIVE WASTE MANAGEMENT (OCRWM) QUALITY ASSURANCE (QA) AUDIT YMP-93-09 OF THE YUCCA MOUNTAIN SITE CHARACTERIZATION PROJECT OFFICE (YMPO)

Please be advised that a team of auditors from OCRWM's Yucca Mountain Quality Assurance Division will conduct a QA audit of the YMPO QA program and Nevada Test Site (NTS) activities from April 5-9, 1993. The audit will be conducted in accordance with the enclosed audit plan. Please note that the scope of this audit may include activities being performed at the Yucca Mountain Site Office located at NTS in Mercury, Nevada.

Observers from the State of Nevada, U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission, or other interested parties may also accompany the audit team. The total number of auditors/observers is anticipated to be less than eight people.

You are hereby requested to arrange for appropriate space to conduct meetings, provide cognizant personnel to support the audit, and provide audit team access to appropriate current YMPO documentation and records.

If you have any questions, please contact either Mario R. Diaz at 794-7974 or Kenneth T. McFall at 794-7280.

Donald G. Horton, Director Office of Quality Assurance

OQA:MRD-2691

Enclosure:

Audit Plan YMP-93-09

WM-11 Add: K.R. Hooks 1 1
) H03-11

9303030167 930225 PDR WASTE WM-11 PDR

cc w/encl:

- L. H. Barrett, HQ (RW-1) FORS
- D. G. Horton, HQ (RW-3) FORS
- R. W. Clark, HQ (RW-3.1) FORS
- J. W. Gilray, NRC, Las Vegas, NV
- K. R. Hooks, NRC, Washington, DC
 - R. R. Loux, NWPO, Carson City, NV
 - S. W. Zimmerman, NWPO, Carson City, NV
 - Cyril Schank, Churchill County Commission, Fallon, NV
 - J. T. Regan, Churchill County, Fallon, NV
 - D. A. Bechtel, Clark County Comprehensive, Las Vegas, NV
 - J. D. Hayes, Esmeralda County, Goldfield, NV Yucca Mountain Information Office, Eureka, NV Lander County Board of Commissioners, Battle Mountain, NV Jason Pitts, Lincoln County, Pioche, NV
 - V. E. Poe, Mineral County, Hawthorne, NV
 - P. A. Niedzielski-Eichner, Nye County, Chantilly, VA William Offutt, Nye County, Tonopah, NV
 - Florindo Mariani, White Pine County, Ely, NV B. R. Mettam, County of Inyo, Independence, CA
 - C. C. Warren, MACTEC, Las Vegas, NV
 - P. L. Osborne, SAIC, Las Vegas, NV