

## Department of Energy Washington, DC 20585

WBS 1.2.9.3

MAY 2 8 1992

L. Dale Foust Technical Project Officer for Yucca Mountain Site Characterization Project TRW Environmental Safety Systems, Inc. Valley Bank Center, Suite P-110 101 Convention Center Drive Las Vegas, NV 89109

ISSUANCE OF THE OFFICE OF QUALITY ASSURANCE (OQA) SURVEILLANCE REPORT YM-SR-92-005 OF CIVILIAN RADIOACTIVE WASTE MANAGEMENT SYSTEM MANAGEMENT AND OPERATING CONTRACTOR (CRWMS M&O) NEVADA OPERATIONS

Enclosed is the OQA Surveillance Report YM-SR-92-005 of the CRWMS M&O activities involved with the closure of the Open Item Reports to the CRWMS M&O Readiness Review, Nevada Site, Fiscal Year 1992. The surveillance was conducted at the CRWMS M&O Las Vegas, Nevada, facilities on May 11-14, 1992.

Two Corrective Action Requests (CARs) were generated as a result of this surveillance. Responses to the CARs (which were transmitted via separate letter) are due by the date indicated in Block 11 of the CARs. A response to this surveillance report is not necessary.

This surveillance is considered completed and closed as of the date of this letter; however, any open CARs will continue to be tracked until they are closed to the satisfaction of the surveillance team leader and the OQA Director.

If you have any questions, please contact either Robert B. Constable at 794-7945 or Frank J. Kratzinger at 794-7163.

> Donald G. Horton, Director Office of Quality Assurance

R.C. Spence For

OOA: RBC-3615

Enclosure:

Surveillance Report YM-SR-92-005

920528 PDR ADD: Ken Hooks Ur. Enel. Willing

L. Dale Foust

cc w/encl: J. W. Bartlett, HQ (RW-1) FORS D. G. Horton, HQ (RW-3) FORS R. W. Clark, HQ (RW-3) FORS Trudy Woods, DOE, Washington, DC J. W. Gilray, NRC, Las Vegas, NV \*K. R. Hooks, NRC, Washington, DC R. R. Loux, NWPO, Carson City, NV S. W. Zimmerman, NWPO, Carson City, NV J. T. Regan, Churchill County Commission, Fallon, NV D. A. Bechtel, Clark County Comprehensive, Las Vegas, NV J. D. Hayes, Esmeralda County Commission, Goldfield, NV C. Bleuss, Eureka County Commission, Eureka, NV Gloria Derby, Lander County Commission, Battle Mountain, NV R. H. Williams, Jr., Lander County Commission, Austin, NV M. L. Baughman, Lincoln County Commission, Fiskdale, MA Jason Pitts, Lincoln County Commission, Pioche, NV J. Foremaster, Lincoln County Commission, Caliente, NV V. E. Poe, Mineral County Commission, Hawthorne, NV S. T. Bradhurst, Nye County Commission, Reno, NV P. A. Niedzielski-Eichner, Nye County Consultant, Chantilly, VA Florindo Mariani, White Pine County Commission, Ely, NV Brad Mettam, County of Inyo, Independence, CA S. L. Bolivar, LANL, Los Alamos, NM Dean Wolfe, LLNL, Livermore, CA J. A. Jackson, M&O/TRW, Las Vegas, NV, M/S 423 R. J. Brackett, M&O/TRW, Vienna, VA R. L. Robertson, M&O/TRW, Vienna, VA W. J. Glasser, REECo, Las Vegas, NV M. J. Regenda, RSN, Las Vegas, NV R. R. Richards, SNL, 6310, Albuquerque, NM

cc w/o encl:

M. Hayes, Esmeralda County Commission, Goldfield, NV

S. R. Dippner, SAIC, Las Vegas, NV, 517/T-08 F. J. Kratzinger, SAIC, Las Vegas, NV, 517/T-08

T. H. Chaney, USGS, Denver, CO