August 18, 1995

Mr. Ronald A. Milner, Director for Program Management and Integration Office of Civilian Radioactive Waste Management U.S. Department of Energy, RW 30 1000 Independence Avenue, S.W. Washington, D.C. 20585

SUBJECT: MINUTES OF THE JULY 19, 1995, EXPLORATORY STUDIES FACILITY

Dear Mr. Milner:

Enclosed are the minutes of the July 19, 1995, technical meeting between the staff of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission and the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) on items of mutual concern regarding the Exploratory Studies Facility (ESF) Design and Construction. This meeting was held by videoconference at DOE Headquarters in Washington, D.C. and DOE offices in Las Vegas, Nevada, as part of a continuing series of bi-monthly ESF meetings. Other attendees represented the State of Nevada Nuclear Waste Project Office, the Environmental Protection Agency, the United States Geological Survey, the National Congress of American Indians, DOE's Civilian Radioactive Waste Management System Management and Operating Contractor, Weston, and NRC's Center for Nuclear Waste Regulatory Analysis.

If you have any questions regarding this letter, or the meeting minutes, please contact Ms. Pauline Brooks of my staff. Ms. Brooks can be reached at (301) 415-6604.

> Sincerely, (Original signed by Robert L. Johnson for)
> Joseph J. Holonich, Chief High-Level Waste and Uranium Recovery Projects Branch Division of Waste Management Office of Nuclear Material Safety

Enclosure: As stated MULLING Safeguards
CC: See attack

DISTRIBUTION: Central file

MFederline w/o MBell On-site reps ACNW

DWM r/f JAustin

CNWRA

HLUR r/f

PUBLIC

LSS

JSurmeter W/O -Holonich NMSS r/f

MDelligatti

DOCUMENT NAME: S;\DWM\HLUR\PPB\ESFMTG.719

OFC	HLUR	E	HLUR	E	HLUR ,	N		
NAME	PBrooks:cc pl	V	JThoma PA	tor	JHolonich 201	foe		-
DATE	08/17/95		08 /18/95		08/₹/95			

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY

CC List for letter to R. Milner dated ____

	1 1 3 4 3
9509130069	950818
PDR WASTE	
WM-11	PDF

CC List for letter to R. Milner dated August 18, 1995:

R. Loux, State of Nevada

J. Meder, Nevada Legislative Counsel Bureau

W. Barnes, YMPO

C. Einberg, DOE/Wash, DC M. Murphy, Nye County, NV

M. Baughman, Lincoln County, NV

D. Bechtel, Clark County, NV

D. Weigel, GAO

P. Niedzielski-Eichner, Nye County, NV

B. Mettam, Inyo County, CA V. Poe, Mineral County, NV

W. Cameron, White Pine County, NV
R. Williams, Lander County, NV
L. Fiorenzi, Eureka County, NV
J. Hoffman, Esmeralda County, NV
C. Schank, Churchill County, NV

L. Bradshaw, Nye County, NV W. Barnard, NWTRB

R. Holden, NCAI

E. Lowery, NIEC R. Arnold, Pahrump, NV

N. Stellavato, Nye County, NV