

Department of Energy

Office of Civilian Radioactive Waste Management Yucca Mountain Site Characterization Office P.O. Box 98608 Las Vegas, NV 89193-8608

JAN 1 9 1995

Joseph J. Holonich, Chief
High-Level Waste and Uranium
Recovery Projects Branch
Division of Waste Management
Office of Nuclear Material Safety
and Safeguards
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, DC 20555

PROCESS FOR PROVIDING "NOT-READILY-AVAILABLE" REFERENCES WITH SEMIANNUAL SITE CHARACTERIZATION PROGRESS REPORTS (SCPB: N/A)

This is written in order to clarify our process for providing not-readily-available references with semiannual site characterization progress reports. In accordance with previous agreements, copies of not-readily-available references have been provided to the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) along with each site characterization progress report. However, in discussions of the progress report held during the December 6, 1994, Bi-Monthly Management Meeting, you stated that the NRC no longer wished to receive copies of all not-readily-available references automatically, but would request specific references as needed.

In response, we now propose to modify our process by transmitting a list of not-readily-available references, rather than copies of the references themselves, along with each progress report. Using that listing, the NRC may contact us to receive copies of specific references as desired. We will implement this new procedure beginning with Progress Report 11, scheduled for release to the NRC this February.

If you have any questions, please contact Carol L. Hanlon at (702) 794-5118.

Stephan J. Brocoum

Assistant Manager for

Suitability and Licensing

AMSL:SJB-1681

270023

9501270209 950119

PDR W

PDR

NHO3.16

```
cc:
```

R. A. Milner, HQ (RW-30) FORS

C. A. Kouts, HQ (RW-36) FORS

C. E. Einberg, HQ (RW-36) FORS F. C. Rodgers, HQ (RW-36) FORS

Samuel Rousso, HQ (RW-40) FORS

W. D. Barnard, NWTRB, Arlington, VA

R. I. Holden, National Congress of American Indians, Washington, DC

Elwood Lowery, Nevada Indian Environmental Coalition, Reno, NV

R. R. Loux, State of Nevada, Carson City, NV

T. J. Hickey, State of Nevada, Carson City, NV

Cyril Schank, Churchill County, Fallon, NV

D. A. Bechtel, Clark County, Las Vegas, NV J. D. Hoffman, Esmeralda County, Goldfield, NV

Eureka County Board of Commissioners, Eureka, NV

B. R. Mettam, Inyo County, Independence, CA

Lander County Board of Commissioners, Battle Mountain, NV

Jason Pitts, Lincoln County, Pioche, NV

V. E. Poe, Mineral County, Hawthorne, NV

L. W. Bradshaw, Nye County, Tonopah, NV

Florindo Mariani, White Pine County, Ely, NV

P. A. Niedzielski-Eichner, Nye County, Chantilly, VA

William Offutt, Nye County, Tonopah, NV

T. M. Williamson, M&O/Duke, Las Vegas, NV

J. L. Younker, M&O/TRW, Las Vegas, NV R. L. Rixford, M&O/TRW, Las Vegas, NV

S. J. Brocoum, YMSCO, NV

R. V. Barton, YMSCO, NV

A. V. Gil, YMSCO, NV