

## **UNITED STATES** NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

WASHINGTON, D.C. 20555-0001

July 16, 1997

Dr. Stephan Brocoum Assistant Manager for Licensing U.S. Department of Energy Office of Civilian Radioactive Waste Management Yucca Mountain Site Characterization Office P. O. Box 30307 Las Vegas, Nevada 89036-0307

SUBJECT: TRANSMITTAL OF ASHPLUME CODE, TECHNICAL DESCRIPTION AND

**USERS GUIDE** 

Dear Dr. Brocoum:

In response to your request in your June 4, 1997, letter, we are transmitting one copy of the code "Ashplume Version 1.0, Revision 1", along with the technical description and users guide. This code was developed at the Center for Nuclear Waste Regulatory Analyses (CNWRA) to evaluate the effects of direct disruption of a repository by volcanic activity and to provide a method for modeling volcanic ash dispersion that has been contaminated by waste from a repository. While the code you have received is in the stand-alone mode, Ashplume has also been incorporated into the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Total System Performance Assessment code.

As this code was developed at the CNWRA, we would recommend that, if technical assistance is needed, you contact Mark Jarzemba, Center for Nuclear Waste Regulatory Analyses, Southwest Research Institute, P.O. Drawer 28510, San Antonio, Texas 78238-0566 (phone number (210) 522-6828). In addition, Brittain Hill of the CNWRA (phone number (210) 522-6087) has considerable experience testing and implementing the code, primarily with data from Cerro Negro, and can provide insight into assumptions and input parameters.

PDR

jinininininininini

If there are any other questions regarding this code, please contact me at (301) 415-7252 or John Trapp at (301) 415-8063.

Sincerely,

Original Signed By Newton K. Stablein, Acting Branch Chief Engineering and Geosciences Branch Division of Waste Management Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

Enclosures: As stated

cc: R. Milner, OCRWM

- R. Loux, State of Nevada
- B. Price, Nevada Legislative Committee
- J. Meder, Nevada Legislative Counsel Bureau
- W. Barnes, YMPO
- C. Einberg, DOE/Wash, DC
- M. Murphy, Nye County, NV
- M. Baughman, Lincoln County, NV
- D. Bechtel, Clark County, NV
- D. Weigel, GAO
- P. Niedzielski-Eichner, Nye County, NV
- B. Mettam, Inyo County, CA
- V. Poe, Mineral County, NV
- W. Cameron, White Pine County, NV
- T. Manzeni, Lander County, NV
- L. Fiorenzi, Eureka County, NV
- J. Hoffman, Esmeralda County, NV
- J. Regan, Churchhill County, NV
- L. Bradshaw, Nye County, NV
- W. Barnard, NWTRB
- R. Holden, NCAI
- A. Collins, NIEC
- R. Arnold, Pahrump County, NV
- N. Stellavato, Nye County, NV
- J. Lyznicky, AMA
- R. Clark, EPA
- A. Gil, YMPO
- R. Anderson, NEI
- C. Henkel, NEI

## **DISTRIBUTION:**

Central File JThoma SWastler NMSS r/f MFederline
ENGB r/f PUBLIC LSS ACNW CNWRA
OSR DWM t/f EBrummett

OFC	ENGB	ENGA	ENGB	
NAME	JTrapp:ccprfrd \$5 4	DBrooks	<b>M</b> stable in S	
DATE	7 <b>(£</b> 197	7 <b>#1</b> /97	7K <b>/</b> 97	