

Department of Energy

Washington, DC 20585

JUL 27 1990

Mr. John Linehan, Director Repository Licensing & Quality Assurance Project Directorate Division of High-Level Waste Management Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555

Dear Mr. Linehan:

AS discussed in the May 22, 1990 NRC/DOE meeting on the Quality Assurance (QA) workshop, DOE will hold a workshop with its program participants to discuss perceived or real problems with implementation of the OCRWM QA program. The workshop will be held in two phases. The first phase will be a meeting for DOE program participants to present any concerns they have relative to the QA program. The second phase will be to resolve problems identified during the first workshop.

DOE would like the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission to attend both phases of the workshop and be available to provide any necessary clarifications with respect to the DOE interpretation of NRC regulatory requirements in the DOE quality assurance requirements and quality assurance program description documents, and to offer both recommendations and assistance to DOE in these interpretations.

The first phase of the workshop will be held in Denver on August 7 and 8, 1990. The meeting on August 7 will be held from 9.00 AM to 4:00 PM and on August 8 from 9:00 AM until approximately 12:00 PM. The location of the meeting is the "City Lites" conference room in the Sheraton Denver-West Hotel, 3360 Union Blvd., Lakewood, Colorado. A block of rooms has been reserved at this hotel. When making your reservations, please refer to the "DOE QA Workshop"; the government rate is \$65.00 including tax and includes a complimentary breakfast. The Sheraton will hold this block of rooms only until Wednesday, August 1, 1990.

102.7 WM-11 NH03

If you have any questions, please contact Cori Macaluso of my staff on 586-2837.

Sincerely,

for Ralph Stein Associate Director for Systems Integration and Regulations Office of Civilian Radioactive Waste Management

cc:

. _____

- R. Loux, State of Nevada C. Gertz, DOE/YMPO/NV
- M. Baughman, Lincoln County, NV
- D. Bechtel, Clark County, NV S. Bradhurst, Nye County, NV