May 6, 2003

Mr. Gregory M. Rueger
Senior Vice President, Generation and
Chief Nuclear Officer
Pacific Gas and Electric Company
Diablo Canyon Power Plant
P O. Box 3
Avila Beach, CA 93424

SUBJECT: TEMPORARY CHANGE IN PROJECT MANAGER - DIABLO CANYON POWER

PLANT, UNIT NOS. 1 AND 2

Dear Mr. Rueger:

This is to notify you that David H. Jaffe will assume project manager responsibilities for Diablo Canyon Power Plant, Unit Nos. 1 and 2, while Girija Shukla is on a rotational assignment. This is effective May 5, 2003. Mr. Jaffe can be reached on (301) 415-1439.

Sincerely,

/RA/

Stephen Dembek, Chief, Section 2 Project Directorate IV Division of Licensing Project Management Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

Docket Nos. 50-275 and 50-323

cc: See next page

Mr. Gregory M. Rueger
Senior Vice President, Generation and
Chief Nuclear Officer
Pacific Gas and Electric Company
Diablo Canyon Power Plant
P.O. Box 3
Avila Beach, CA 93424

SUBJECT: TEMPORARY CHANGE IN PROJECT MANAGER - DIABLO CANYON POWER

PLANT, UNIT NOS. 1 AND 2

Dear Mr. Rueger:

This is to notify you that David H. Jaffe will assume project manager responsibilities for Diablo Canyon Power Plant, Unit Nos. 1 and 2, while Girjja Shukla is on a rotational assignment. This is effective May 5, 2003. Mr. Jaffe can be reached on (301) 415-1439.

Sincerely, /RA/

Stephen Dembek, Chief, Section 2

Project Directorate IV

Division of Licensing Project Management Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

Docket Nos. 50-275 <u>DISTRIBUTION</u>:

and 50-323 PUBLIC

PDIV-2 Reading

cc: See next page RidsNrrPMGShukla

RidsNrrPMMHoncharik RidsNrrLAEPeyton

RidsDlpmLpdiv (HBerkow) RidsDlpmLpdiv-1 (RGramm)

RidsOgcRp

RidsAcrsAcnwMailCenter RidsRgn4MailCenter (AHowell) RidsNrrOd (SCollins/RBorchardt)

RidsNrrAdpt (BSheron)

LBerry

ADAMS Accession No.: ML031260052

NRR-106

OFFICE	PDIV-1/PM	PDIV-2/LA	PDIV-1/SC	PDIV-2/SC	PDIV/D
NAME	DJaffe	EPeyton	WDReckley for RGramm	SDembek	HBerkow
DATE	5/5/03	5/2/03	5/5/03	5/5/03	5/5/03

DOCUMENT NAME: G:\PDIV-2\DiabloCanyon\PM change.wpd OFFICIAL RECORD COPY

## Diablo Canyon Power Plant, Units 1 and 2

CC:

NRC Resident Inspector Diablo Canyon Nuclear Power Plant c/o U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission P.O. Box 369 Avila Beach, CA 93424

Mr. Pete Wagner Sierra Club California 2650 Maple Avenue Morro Bay, California 93442

Ms. Nancy Culver San Luis Obispo Mothers for Peace P.O. Box 164 Pismo Beach, CA 93448

Chairman
San Luis Obispo County Board of
Supervisors
Room 370
County Government Center
San Luis Obispo, CA 93408

Mr. Truman Burns Mr. Robert Kinosian California Public Utilities Commission 505 Van Ness, Room 4102 San Francisco, CA 94102

Diablo Canyon Independent Safety Committee ATTN: Robert R. Wellington, Esq. Legal Counsel 857 Cass Street, Suite D Monterey, CA 93940

Regional Administrator, Region IV U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Harris Tower & Pavillion 611 Ryan Plaza Drive, Suite 400 Arlington, TX 76011-8064

Richard F. Locke, Esq. Pacific Gas & Electric Company P.O. Box 7442 San Francisco, CA 94120 Mr. David H. Oatley, Vice President and General Manager Diablo Canyon Nuclear Power Plant P.O. Box 56 Avila Beach, CA 93424

City Editor
The Tribune
3825 South Higuera Street
P.O. Box 112
San Luis Obispo, CA 93406-0112

Mr. Ed Bailey, Radiation Program Director Radiologic Health Branch State Department of Health Services P.O. Box 942732 (MS 178) Sacramento, CA 94234-7320

Mr. James D. Boyd, Commissioner California Energy Commission 1516 Ninth Street (MS 31) Sacramento, CA 95814

Mr. James R. Becker, Vice President Diablo Canyon Operations and Station Director Diablo Canyon Nuclear Power Plant P.O. Box 3 Avila Beach, CA 93424