MEMORANDUM TO	: Janet R. Schlueter, Chief High-Level Waste Branch Division of Waste Management Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards
FROM:	Daniel Rom, Project Manager IIc: <b>/RA/</b> Projects and Engineering Section High-Level Waste Branch Division of Waste Management Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards
SUBJECT:	FORTHCOMING U.S. NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION AND U.S. DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY TECHNICAL EXCHANGE TO DISCUSS RISK INFORMATION
DATE/TIME:	May 15, 2003 10:00 a.m 2:30 p.m. (ET)
LOCATION:	U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission O3B-4 11555 Rockville Pike Rockville, Maryland and via videoconference to:
BSC Room 915 9960 Covington Cros Las Vegas, Nevada	Center for Nuclear Waste Regulatory Analyses Bldg 189 6220 Culebra Road San Antonio, Texas
	INTERESTED PARTIES MAY PARTICIPATE IN THE TECHNICAL EXCHANGE VIA TELECON BY CALLING 1-702-295-6082
PURPOSE:	Discuss DOE's proposed approach for the use of Risk Information to resolve technical agreements
AGENDA:	Attached

PARTICIPANTS:	<u>NRC</u> LKokajko DEsh et. al.	<u>DOE</u> TGunter et al.	<u>Neva</u> SFrisl et. al.		<u>NV Counties</u> INavis et. al.
CONTACT:	Daniel Rom	dsr@nrc.g	jov	301-415-	6704

Category 1 meeting: The public is invited to observe this meeting and will have one or more opportunities to communicate with the NRC after the business portion, but before the meeting is adjourned.

Memorandum to J. Schlueter from D. Rom dated: May 1, 2003 CC: A. Kalt, Churchill County, NV R. Massey, Churchill/Lander County, NV I. Navis, Clark County, NV E. von Tiesenhausen, Clark County, NV G. McCorkell, Esmeralda County, NV L. Fiorenzi, Eureka County, NV A. Johnson, Eureka County, NV A. Remus, Inyo County, CA M. Yarbro, Lander County, NV D. Carriger, Lincoln County, NV M. Baughman, Lincoln County, NV L. Mathias, Mineral County, NV L. Bradshaw, Nye County, NV D. Chavez, Nye County, NV D. Hammermeister, Nye County, NV J. Larson, White Pine County, NV J. Ray, NV Congressional Delegation B. J. Gerber, NV Congressional Delegation F. Roberson, NV Congressional Delegation T. Story, NV Congressional Delegation J. Reynoldson, NV Congressional Delegation L. Hunsaker, NV Congressional Delegation S. Joya, NV Congressional Delegation K. Kirkeby, NV Congressional Delegation R. Loux, State of NV cc list (continued)

M. Corradini, NWTRB J. Treichel, Nuclear Waste Task Force K. Tilges, Shundahai Network M. Chu, DOE/Washington, D.C. G. Runkle, DOE/Washington, D.C. C. Einberg, DOE/Washington, D.C. S. Gomberg, DOE/Washington, D.C. W. J. Arthur, III, DOE/ORD R. Dyer, DOE/ORD J. Ziegler, DOE/ORD A. Gil, DOE/ORD W. Boyle, DOE/ORD D. Brown, DOE/OCRWM S. Mellington, DOE/ORD C. Hanlon, DOE/ORD T. Gunter, DOE/ORD S. Morris, DOE/ORD J. Mitchell, BSC M. Mason, BSC S. Cereghino, BSC N. Williams, BSC M. Voegele, BSC/SAIC D. Beckman, BSC/B&A W. Briggs, Ross, Dixon & Bell P. Johnson, Citizen Alert

S. Frishman, State of NV R. Holden, NCAI S. Lynch, State of NV B. Helmer, Timbisha Shoshone Tribe M. Paslov Thomas, Legislative Counsel Bureau R. Boland, Timbisha Shoshone Tribe J. Pegues, City of Las Vegas, NV J. Birchim, Yomba Shoshone Tribe M. Murphy, Nye County, NV R. Arnold, Pahrump Paiute Tribe C. Meyers, Moapa Paiute Indian Tribe R. Clark, EPA R. Wilder, Fort Independence Indian Tribe R. Anderson, NEI R. McCullum, NEI D. Vega, Bishop Paiute Indian Tribe S. Kraft, NEI J. Egan, Egan & Associates, PLLC J. Kessler, EPRI J. Leeds, Las Vegas Indian Center D. Duncan, USGS R. M. Saulque, Benton Paiute Indian Tribe R. Craig, USGS C. Bradley, Kaibab Band of Southern Paiutes W. Booth, Engineering Svcs, LTD R. Joseph, Lone Pine Paiute-Shoshone Tribe L. Lehman, T-Reg, Inc. L. Tom, Paiute Indian Tribes of Utah E. Smith, Chemehuevi Indian Tribe S. Echols, ESQ M. Smurr, BNFL, Inc. V. McQueen, Sr., Ely Shoshone Tribe J. Bococh, Big Pine Paiute Tribe of the Owens Valley V. Guzman, Chairwoman, Walker River Paiute Tribe R. Mike, Duckwater Shoshone Tribe D. Eddy, Jr., Colorado River Indian Tribes T. Kingham, GAO H. Jackson, Public Citizen J. Wells, Western Shoshone National D. Feehan, GAO Council E. Hiruo, Platts Nuclear Publications D. Crawford, Inter-Tribal Council of NV G. Hernandez, Las Vegas Paiute Tribe I. Zabarte, Western Shoshone National Council K. Finfrock, NV Congressional Delegation NRC On-Site Representatives

## DRAFT AGENDA NRC/DOE TECHNICAL EXCHANGE ON RISK INFORMATION O3B-4 11555 ROCKVILLE PIKE ROCKVILLE, MARYLAND 10:00 A.M. - 2:30 P.M. (ET) MAY 15, 2003

and via video conferencing to:

BSC	CENTER FOR NUCLEAR WASTE
Room 915	REGULATORY ANALYSES
9960 Covington Cross	Bldg 189
11555 Rockville Pike	6220 Culebra Road
Rockville, Maryland	San Antonio, Texas

INTERESTED PARTIES MAY PARTICIPATE VIA TELECON BY CALLING 1-702-295-6082

10:00 a.m.	Introduction/Opening Remarks	NRC/DOE
10:15 a.m.	Use of Risk Information to Address Key Technical Issue Agreements	DOE
10:35 a.m.	NRC Comments on the Use of Risk Information to Address Key Technical Issue Agreements	NRC
11:05 a.m.	Analysis of Combined Effects	NRC
11:35 a.m.	Discussion - Use of Non-Q Analysis	NRC/DOE
11:50 a.m.	Discussion	NRC/DOE
12:50 p.m.	Lunch/Caucus	All
2:00 p.m.	Discussion	NRC/DOE
2:15 p.m.	Comments	Observers
2:25 p.m.	Closing Remarks	NRC/DOE
2:30 p.m.	Adjourn	

MEMORANDUM TO	Janet R. Schlueter, Chief High-Level Waste Branch Division of Waste Manager Office of Nuclear Material S	
FROM:	Daniel Rom, Project Manag Projects and Engineering S High-Level Waste Branch Division of Waste Manager Office of Nuclear Material S	Section
SUBJECT:		CLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION OF ENERGY TECHNICAL EXCHANGE RMATION
DATE/TIME:	May 15, 2003 10:00 a.	.m 2:30 p.m. (ET)
LOCATION:	U.S. Nuclear Regulatory C O3B-4 11555 Rockville Pike Rockville, Maryland and via videoconference to	
BSC Room 915 9960 Covington Cros Las Vegas, Nevada	C E SS 6	, Center for Nuclear Waste Regulatory Analyses Bldg 189 6220 Culebra Road San Antonio, Texas

## INTERESTED PARTIES MAY PARTICIPATE IN THE TECHNICAL EXCHANGE VIA TELECON BY CALLING 1-702-295-6082

PURPOSE: Discuss DOE's proposed approach for the use of Risk Information to resolve technical agreements

AGENDA: Attached

PARTICIPANTS:	<u>NRC</u> LKokajko DEsh et. al.	<u>DOE</u> TGunter et. al.	<u>Neva</u> SFris et. al.		<u>NV Counties</u> INavis et. al.
CONTACT:	Daniel Rom	dsr@nrc.g	gov	301-415-	6704

Category 1 meeting: The public is invited to observe this meeting and will have one or more opportunities to communicate with the NRC after the business portion, but before the meeting is adjourned.

DISTRIBU	TION: FILE	CENTER	EBAP r/f	HLWB r/f	ACNW	PUBLIC
OSRs	LSN	CNWRA	LCampbell	ACampbell	Bspitzberg	WMaier
LChandler	DDambly	MYoung	ACoggins	SGagner	LKokajko	DEsh
AULGS	PMNS	DHiggs	DBrooks	TBloomer	TMcCartin	HArlt
RCodell	JFirth	CGrossn	nan			

S:\DWM\HLWB\gdh1\MeetingNotices\051503TEonInformation **ML031210632** 

OFFICE	HLWB	HLWB		EBAP	HLWB	
NAME	DHiggs	DRom		LKokajko	JSchlueter: Ilc	
DATE	5/30/03	5/30/03		5/30/03	5/1/03	