April 30, 2003

MEMORANDUM TO: William D. Travers Executive Director for Operations

- FROM: Charles E. Ader, Chairman **/RA/** Committee to Review Generic Requirements
- SUBJECT: MINUTES OF THE COMMITTEE TO REVIEW GENERIC REQUIREMENTS MEETING NUMBER 383

The Committee to Review Generic Requirements (CRGR) held special Meeting No. 383 on April 8, 2003, from 1:00 P.M. to 5:00 P.M., with the attendees listed in Attachment 1. The purpose of this meeting was to review two items. The first item was a proposed Bulletin 2003-XX, "Potential Impact of Debris Blockage on Emergency Sump Recirculation of Pressurized Water Reactors," ADAMS Accession No. ML030830459. The slide presentation is found in ADAMS, Accession No. ML030990519. The second item was a proposed Amendment to 10 CFR 50.55a, "Codes and Standards," (Incorporation by Reference of ASME BPV and OM Code Cases), ADAMS Accession No. ML030640093, and related Regulatory Guides (RG) 1.84 (DG-1090)(ADAMS Accession No. ML031200029), RG 1.147 (DG-1091)(ADAMS Accession No. ML031200141), RG 1.192 (DG-1089)(ADAMS Accession No. ML031200020), RG 1.193 (DG-1112)(ADAMS Accession No. ML031200027). The CRGR request memo is located in ADAMS Accession No. ML030790225. The slide presentations are found in ADAMS, Accession No. ML030870625 and Accession No. ML031040390. The review of a proposed Generic Letter, "Control Room Habitability," originally scheduled for this meeting, was postponed at the request of NRR management to allow for the review of the proposed Bulletin.

Item #1:

Mr. John Lehning, Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation, briefed the CRGR on the proposed Bulletin 2003-XX, "Potential Impact of Debris Blockage on Emergency Sump Recirculation of Pressurized Water Reactors."

Following discussion of the proposed package, the CRGR recommended and the staff agreed to incorporate several clarifying changes to assure that the Bulletin did not include any new staff positions, thereby removing any potential backfit implications and to maintain consistency within the Bulletin. Also, the CRGR recommended that the text citing examples of interim compensatory measures provided by the staff as potential approaches should be modified so as not to imply a limitation of options available to the licensee. The CRGR recommended that the paragraphs under, "Requested Information," be modified concerning compliance versus operability to provide better clarity.

Furthermore, the CRGR recommended and the staff agreed to provide inspection guidance as part of a follow up to the Bulletin. The CRGR and staff agreed to incorporate the recommendations and forward the revised document to the CRGR Member, Janice Moore (OGC) and CRGR staff to verify that the CRGR concerns have been adequately addressed. Subsequent to this meeting, staff provided to the CRGR a revised package that adequately addressed the Committee's concerns.

Item #2:

Mr. Harry Tovmassian, Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation briefed the CRGR on 10 CFR 50.55a Rulemaking on the ASME Code Case and Mr. Wallace Norris, Office of Nuclear Regulatory Research provided the briefing on the supporting Regulatory Guides (see above).

Following discussion of the proposed package, the CRGR recommended that staff further review with OGC whether the incorporation by reference of a Code Case with modifications or conditions places new requirements on a licensee who has previously been granted the approval through the relief process. The staff agreed to discuss the resolution of this concern with CRGR Member, Janice Moore (OGC).

The CRGR recommended and staff agreed to revise the rulemaking package to provide consistency between the statement of considerations and the rule changes. The CRGR also recommended and the staff agreed to incorporate some editorial comments in the Regulatory Guides (RG) 1.84 (DG-1090), RG 1.147 (DG-1091), to reflect consistency with RG 1.192 (DG-1089) with regard to the statement that, 10 CFR 50.55a will prohibit annulled codes.

The CRGR and staff agreed to submit the revised documents to CRGR Member, Janice Moore (OGC) and CRGR staff to confirm that the CRGR concerns have been adequately addressed. Subsequent to this meeting, staff provided to the CRGR a revised package that adequately addressed the Committee's concerns.

Attachment: As stated

Cc: See attached list.

C:\ORPCheckout\FileNET\ML031210035.wpd

OAR in ADAMS? (Y or N) Y	ADAMS ACCESSION NO.: ML031210035	TEMPLATE NO. CRGR-001	
Publicly Available? (Y or N) N	DATE OF RELEASE TO PUBLIC N/A	SENSITIVE? <u>N</u>	

To receive a copy of this document, indicate in the box: "C" = Copy without attachment/enclosure "E" = Copy with attachment/enclosure "N" = No copy

OFFICE	CRGR	CRGR			
NAME	L. Cupidon	C. Ader			
DATE	04/30/03	04/30/03	/ /03	/ /03	

(RES File Code) RES

CRGR MEETING No. 383 LIST OF ATTENDEES (April 8, 2003)

CRGR Members

Charles E. Ader, Chairman Brian W. Sheron, NRR Melvyn Leach, NMSS (for Margaret V. Federline) Janice E. Moore, OGC Jack R. Strosnider, RES Bruce S. Mallett, RII

Les Cupidon, CRGR Staff

NRR Staff

Item #1:

Susan C. Black, NRR/DSSA John N. Hannon, NRR/DSSA/SPLB Sunil D. Weerakkody, NRR/DSSA/SPLB John Lehning, NRR/DSSA/SPLB Ralph E. Architzel, NRR/DSSA/SPLB Chuck D. Petrone, NRR/DRIP/RORP/OEB William M. Blumberg, NRR/DSSA/SPLB John G. Lamb, NRR/DLPM/LBD3 James W. Shapaker, NRR/DRIP/RORP/OEB Joseph A. Golla, NRR/DSSA/SPLB Warren C. Lyon, NRR/DSSA/SRXB Christopher M. Long, NRR/DSSA/SRXB

Item #2:

David B. Matthews, NRR/DRIP Christopher I. Grimes, NRR/DRIP/RPRP David L. Skeen, NRR/DRIP/RPRP Harry S. Tovmassian, NRR/DRIP/RPRP Stephen G. Tingen, NRR/DE/EMEB Thomas G. Scarbrough, NRR/DE/EMEB James M. Strnisha, NRR/DE/EMEB David Terao, NRR/DE/EMEB

RES Staff

Item #1: Alan E. Levin, RES/OD

Item #2:

Leonard D. Wert, RES/DET/MEB Alan E. Levin, RES/OD Nilesh C. Chokshi, RES/DET/MEB Edwin M. Hackett, RES/DET/MEB Wallace E. Norris, RES/DET/MEB

MEMO DATED: 4/30/03

SUBJECT: MINUTES FOR THE COMMITTEE TO REVIEW GENERIC REQUIREMENTS MEETING NUMBER 383

cc w/atts: Chairman Diaz Commissioner Dicus Commissioner McGaffigan Commissioner Merrifield Annette Vietti-Cook, Secretary of the Commission William D. Travers, EDO William F. Kane, DEDR Carl J. Paperiello, DEDMRS Frank J. Congel, OE Hubert T. Bell, OIG Karen D. Cyr, OGC Janice Moore, OGC	Mail Stop O-16 C1 O-16 C1 O-16 C1 O-16 C1 O-16 C1 O-16 E15 O-16 E15 O-16 E15 O-16 E15 O-14 E1 T-5 D28 O-15 D21
John T. Larkins, ACRS Martin J. Virgilio, NMSS	T-2 E26 T-8 A23
Margaret V. Federline, NMSS E. William Brach, NMSS M. Wayne Hodges, NMSS/SFPO Samuel J. Collins, NRR Brian W. Sharan, NBP	O-13 D13 O-13 D13 O-5 E7
Brian W. Sheron, NRR Gary Holahan, NRR R. William Borchardt, NRR Ashok C. Thadani, RES	O-10 A1 O-5 E7 T-10 F12
Jack Strosnider, RES W. Beecher, OPA H. Miller, Region I L. Reyes, Region II Bruce Mallett, R II	O-2 A13
Bruce Mallett, R II J. Dyer, Region III E. Merschoff, Region IV Susan C. Black, NRR/DSSA John N. Hannon, NRR/DSSA/SPLB Sunil D. Weerakkody, NRR/DSSA/SPLB John Lehning, NRR/DSSA/SPLB Ralph E. Architzel, NRR/DSSA/SPLB Chuck D. Petrone, NRR/DRIP/RORP/OEB William M. Blumberg, NRR/DSSA/SPLB John G. Lamb, NRR/DLPM/LBD3 James W. Shapaker, NRR/DRIP/RORP/OEB Joseph A. Golla, NRR/DSSA/SPLB Warren C. Lyon, NRR/DSSA/SPLB Christopher M. Long, NRR/DSSA/SRXB David B. Matthews, NRR/DRIP Christopher I. Grimes, NRR/DRIP/RPRP David L. Skeen, NRR/DRIP/RPRP	

Harry S. Tovmassian, NRR/DRIP/RPRP Stephen G. Tingen, NRR/DE/EMEB Thomas G. Scarbrough, NRR/DE/EMEB James M. Strnisha, NRR/DE/EMEB David Terao, NRR/DE/EMEB Alan E. Levin, RES/OD Leonard D. Wert, RES/DET/MEB Alan E. Levin, RES/DET/MEB Edwin M. Hackett, RES/DET/MEB Wallace E. Norris, RES/DET/MEB