

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION REGION IV

611 RYAN PLAZA DRIVE, SUITE 400 ARLINGTON, TEXAS 76011-4005

April 8, 2003

Joseph E. Venable Vice President Operations Waterford 3 Entergy Operations, Inc. 17265 River Road Killona, Louisiana 70066-0751

SUBJECT: MEETING SUMMARY FOR END-OF-CYCLE PERFORMANCE ASSESSMENT

Dear Mr. Venable:

This refers to the end-of-cycle performance assessment meeting conducted at the St. Charles Parish Courthouse Council Chamber in Hahnville, Louisiana, on April 1, 2003. The meeting attendance list and a copy of the slides presented during the meeting are enclosed.

In accordance with Section 2.790 of the NRC's "Rules of Practice," Part 2, Title 10, Code of Federal Regulations, a copy of this letter and its enclosure will be available electronically for public inspection in the NRC's Public Document Room or from the Publicly Available Records (PARS) component of NRC's document system (ADAMS). ADAMS is accessible from the NRC Web site at http://www.nrc.gov/reading-rm/adams/index.html (the Public Electronic Reading Room).

Should you have any questions concerning this matter, we will be pleased to discuss them with you.

Sincerely,

/RA/

William B. Jones, Chief Project Branch E Division of Reactor Projects

Docket: 50-382 License: NPF-38

Enclosures:

Attendance List
 NRC Presentation

cc w/enclosures:
Executive Vice President and
Chief Operating Officer
Entergy Operations, Inc.
P.O. Box 31995
Jackson, Mississippi 39286-1995

Vice President, Operations Support Entergy Operations, Inc. P.O. Box 31995 Jackson, Mississippi 39286-1995

Wise, Carter, Child & Caraway P.O. Box 651 Jackson, Mississippi 39205

General Manager, Plant Operations Waterford 3 SES Entergy Operations, Inc. 17265 River Road Killona, Louisiana 70066-0751

Manager - Licensing Manager Waterford 3 SES Entergy Operations, Inc. 17265 River Road Killona, Louisiana 70066-0751

Chairman Louisiana Public Service Commission P.O. Box 91154 Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70821-9154

Director, Nuclear Safety & Regulatory Affairs Waterford 3 SES Entergy Operations, Inc. 17265 River Road Killona, Louisiana 70066-0751

Michael E. Henry, Administrator and State Liaison Officer Department of Environmental Quality P.O. Box 82135 Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70884-2135 Parish President St. Charles Parish P.O. Box 302 Hahnville, Louisiana 70057

Winston & Strawn 1400 L Street, N.W. Washington, D.C. 20005-3502

Federal Emergency Management Agency Ron Castleman, Regional Director Region VI, Federal Center 800 North Loop 288 Denton, Texas 76201-3698

Col. Michael L. Brown, Assistant Director State Emergency Management Military Department Office of Emergency Preparedness P.O. Box 44217 Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70804

Albert D. Laque, Parish President St. Charles Parish P.O. Box 302 Hahnville, Louisiana 70057

Sheriff Greg Champagne St. Charles Parish P.O. Box 426 Hahnville, Louisiana 70057

Rep. Gary L. Smith, Jr. State of Louisiana, District 56 P.O. Box 189 Norco, Louisiana 70079

Senator Joel T. Chaisson, II State of Louisiana, District 19 P.O. Box 1255 Destrehan, Louisiana 70047

Mr. Tab Troxler, Director Dept. of Emergency Preparedness St. Charles Parish P.O. Box 302 Hahnville, Louisiana 70057 Mr. G. "Ram" Ramchandran Councilman-at-Large, Div. A St. Charles Parish 13 Hermitage Court Destrehan, Louisiana 70047

Mr. Clayton "Snookie" Faucheux Councilman-at-Large, Div. B St. Charles Parish 140 North Oak Court P.O. Box 1342 Luling, Louisiana 70070

Mr. Desmond J. Hilaire Councilman, District 1 St. Charles Parish P.O. Box 111 Hahnville, Louisiana 70057

Mr. Brian A. Fabre Councilman, District 2 St. Charles Parish 322 Beaupre Drive Luling, Louisiana 70070

Ms. Darnell "Dee" Abadie Councilwoman, District 3 St. Charles Parish 237 Ormond Village Drive Destrehan, Louisiana 70047

Mr. Terry Authement Councilman, District 4 St. Charles Parish P.O. Box 516 Boutte, Louisiana 70039

Ms. April Black Councilwoman, District 5 St. Charles Parish 14 Bridle Path Lane St. Rose, Louisiana 70087

Mr. Lance Marino Councilman, District 6 St. Charles Parish 660 Pine Street Norco, Louisiana 70079 Mr. Barry Minnich Councilman, District 7 St. Charles Parish 337 Wanda Street Luling, Louisiana 70070

Nickie Monica, President St. John the Baptist Parish 1801 West Airline Highway LaPlace, Louisiana 70068

Mr. Paul Oncale Public Safety Director St. John the Baptist Parish 1801 W. Airline Highway LaPlace, Louisiana 70068

Mr. Cleveland Farlough Council at Large Div. A St. John the Baptist Parish P.O. Box 528 Reserve, Louisiana 70084

Mr. Duaine Duffy Council at Large Div. B St. John the Baptist Parish 145 River Oaks Drive LaPlace, Louisiana 70068

Mr. Lester Rainey, Jr. Councilman District I St. John the Baptist Parish P.O. Box 278 Edgard, Louisiana 70049

Mr. Allen St. Pierre Councilman District II St. John the Baptist Parish 3106 Hwy. 44 Reserve, Louisiana 70084

Mr. Richard Dale Wolfe Councilman District III St. John the Baptist Parish P.O. Box 2289 Reserve, Louisiana 70084 Mr. Ranney Wilson Councilman District IV St. John the Baptist Parish 1506 Delta Road LaPlace, Louisiana 70068

Mr. Jobe' Boucvalt Councilman District V St. John the Baptist Parish 3013 Main Street LaPlace, Louisiana 70068

Ms. Melissa Faucheux Councilwoman District VI St. John the Baptist Parish P.O. Box 911 LaPlace, Louisiana 70068

Mr. Steve Lee Councilman District VII St. John the Baptist Parish 38 Muirfield LaPlace, Louisiana 70068 Electronic distribution by RIV:

Regional Administrator (EWM)

DRP Director (ATH)

DRS Director (DDC)

Senior Resident Inspector (TRF)

Branch Chief, DRP/E (WBJ)

Senior Project Engineer, DRP/E (VGG)

Staff Chief, DRP/TSS (PHH)

RITS Coordinator (NBH)

V. L. Dricks, PAO (VLD)

W. A. Maier, RSLO (WAM)

C. J. Gordon (CJG)

DRS Branch Chiefs (TWP, ATG, CSM)

W. D. Travers, EDO (WDT)

C. A. Carpenter, Chief, NRR/DIPM/IIPB (CAC)

R. K. Frahm, PPR Program Manager, NRR/DIPM/IIPB (RKF)

R. W. Borchardt, Associate Dir. for Inspection and Programs (RWB1)

B. W. Sheron, Associate Dir. for Project Licensing and Technical Analysis (BWS)

S. Morris, Acting Chief, Regional Operations Staff, OEDO (SAM1)

H. Berkow, NRR Project Director (HNB)

R. Gramm, Chief, Section 1, NRR/DLPM (RAG)

N. Kalyanam, NRR Project Manager (NXK)

RidsNrrDipmlipb

R:\ WAT\2003\WT4-1-03 EOC MS.wpd

RIV:SPE:DRP/E	C:DRP/E			
VGGaddy;df	WBJones			
/RA/	/RA/			
4/4/03	4/8/03			