Mr. Clay C. Warren Vice President of Nuclear Energy Nebraska Public Power District P. O. Box 98 Brownville, NE 68321

SUBJECT: COOPER NUCLEAR STATION - CORRECTION OF TYPOGRAPHICAL

ERRORS RE: AMENDMENT REGARDING DESIGN BASIS ACCIDENTS RADIOLOGICAL DOES ASSESSMENT METHODOLOGIES AND REVISION

TO LICENSE CONDITION 2.C.(6) (TAC NO. MB4654)

Dear Mr. Warren:

On February 21, 2003, the Commission issued Amendment No. 196 to Facility Operating License No. DPR-46 for the Cooper Nuclear Station (CNS). The amendment consists of approval of changes to the CNS design-basis accident evaluation methodology and a revision to License Condition 2.C.(6).

There were two typographical errors on pages 4 and 5 of the safety evaluation (SE). A copy of the corrected SE is enclosed. We regret any inconvenience this may have caused.

Sincerely,

/RA/

Mohan C. Thadani, Senior Project Manager, Section 1 Project Directorate IV Division of Licensing Project Management Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

Docket No. 50-298

Enclosure: Safety Evaluation

cc w/encl: See next page

March 12, 2003

Mr. Clay C. Warren Vice President of Nuclear Energy Nebraska Public Power District P. O. Box 98 Brownville, NE 68321

SUBJECT: COOPER NUCLEAR STATION - CORRECTION OF TYPOGRAPHICAL

ERRORS RE: AMENDMENT REGARDING DESIGN BASIS ACCIDENTS RADIOLOGICAL DOES ASSESSMENT METHODOLOGIES AND REVISION

TO LICENSE CONDITION 2.C.(6) (TAC NO. MB4654)

Dear Mr. Warren:

On February 21, 2003, the Commission issued Amendment No. 196 to Facility Operating License No. DPR-46 for the Cooper Nuclear Station (CNS). The amendment consists of approval of changes to the CNS design-basis accident evaluation methodology and a revision to License Condition 2.C.(6).

There were two typographical errors on pages 4 and 5 of the safety evaluation (SE). A copy of the corrected SE is enclosed. We regret any inconvenience this may have caused.

Sincerely,

/RA/

Mohan C. Thadani, Senior Project Manager, Section 1 Project Directorate IV

Division of Licensing Project Management Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

Docket No. 50-298

Enclosure: Safety Evaluation cc w/encl: See next page

DISTRIBUTION:

PUBLIC RidsNrrDlpmLpdiv1 (RGramm) MHart PDIV-1 r/f RDennig LBrown RidsNrrDlpmLpdiv (H. Berkow) RidsNrrPMMThadani YKim

RidsNrrPMMHoncharik RidsNrrLAMMcAllister

RidsAcrsAcnwMailCenter RidsOgcRp RidsRgn4MailCenter (K. Kennedy) GHill (2)

ACCESSION NO: ML030710724

| OFFICE | PDIV-1/PM | PDIV-1/PM | PDIV-1/LA | PDIV-1/SC | SPSB/SC |
|--------|-----------|------------|-------------|-----------|-----------|
| NAME | MThadani | MHoncharik | MMcAllister | RGramm | MReinhart |
| DATE | 3/4/2003 | 3/4/03 | 3/4/03 | 3/5/03 | 3/10/2003 |

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY

Cooper Nuclear Station

CC:

Mr. William J. Fehrman President and Chief Executive Officer Nebraska Public Power District 1414 15th Street Columbus, NE 68601

Mr. Michael T. Coyle Site Vice President Nebraska Public Power District P. O. Box 98 Brownville, NE 68321

Mr. John R. McPhail, General Counsel Nebraska Public Power District P. O. Box 499 Columbus, NE 68602-0499

Mr. Paul V. Fleming, Licensing Manager Nebraska Public Power District P.O. Box 98 Brownville, NE 68321

Mr. Michael J. Linder, Director Nebraska Department of Environmental Quality P. O. Box 98922 Lincoln, NE 68509-8922

Chairman
Nemaha County Board of Commissioners
Nemaha County Courthouse
1824 N Street
Auburn, NE 68305

Ms. Cheryl K. Rogers, Program Manager Nebraska Health & Human Services System Division of Public Health Assurance Consumer Services Section 301 Centennial Mall, South P. O. Box 95007 Lincoln, NE 68509-5007 Mr. Ronald A. Kucera, Director of Intergovernmental Cooperation Department of Natural Resources P.O. Box 176 Jefferson City, MO 65102

Senior Resident Inspector U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission P. O. Box 218 Brownville, NE 68321

Regional Administrator, Region IV U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 611 Ryan Plaza Drive, Suite 1000 Arlington, TX 76011

Jerry Uhlmann, Director State Emergency Management Agency P. O. Box 116 Jefferson City, MO 65101

Chief, Radiation Control Program, RCP Kansas Department of Health and Environment Bureau of Air and Radiation 1000 SW Jackson Suite 310 Topeka, KS 66612-1366

Mr. Daniel K. McGhee Bureau of Radiological Health Iowa Department of Public Health 401 SW 7th Street Suite D Des Moines, IA 50309

Mr. Scott Clardy, Director Section for Environmental Public Health P.O. Box 570 Jefferson City, MO 65102-0570