

## Conference of Radiation Control Program Directors, Inc.

Office of Executive Director ◆ 205 Capital Avenue ◆ Frankfort, KY 40601 Phone: 502/227-4543 ◆ Fax: 502/227-7862 ◆ Web Site: www.crcpd.org Central E-mail: staff@crcpd.org

March 4, 2003

Board of Directors

Chairperson
Cynthia C. Cardwell
Texas

Chairperson-Elect Richard A, Ratliff Texas

Past Chairperson
Paul J. Merges, Ph D
New York

Treasurer
Terry C. Frazee
Washington

Members-at-Large Julia A. Schmitt Nebraska

Russell S. Takata Hawali

Debbie B. Gilley Florida

- Office of Executive Director

Executive Director Ronald G. Fraass Kentucky

Administrative Officer Patricia C. Gorman Kentucky The Honorable Rick Perry Attention: Wendy Wyman 1100 San Jacinto Blvd., Suite 151B Austin, TX 78701

Dear Governor Perry:

With the enclosed certificate of recognition, the Conference of Radiation Control Program Directors, Inc. (CRCPD) and the Organization of Agreement States (OAS) commends the State of Texas for having provided 56 years of outstanding radiation safety programs for the protection of your citizens, the regulation of radiation sources in your state, and the participation in the Agreement State Program of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission for the past 40 years.

The CRCPD and the OAS would encourage you and the Executive Branch to continue support of the important services that the Bureau of Radiation Control provides for your state, and that serves as an example for radiation control programs in other states and nations.

We hope that you will find an opportunity to present this commendation to the radiation control program director, Richard Ratliff and staff, and in doing so please extend our congratulations and our wishes for continued success in regulating the safe use of radioactive material and radiation producing equipment.

Sincerely,

Cindy Cardwell
Cynthia C. Cardwell, Chairperson—
Conference of Radiation Control

Program Directors, Inc.

T. Pearce O'Kelley, Chairperson
Organization of Agreement States

CCC/TPO/RF/ss

Enclosure

cc:

Richard Ratliff, Texas Radiation Control
Paul Lohaus, NRC Office of State and Tribal Programs
NRC Region IV

SPOR

