MEMORANDUM TO: William D. Travers

**Executive Director for Operations** 

FROM: Charles E. Ader, Chairman/RA/

Committee to Review Generic Requirements

SUBJECT: MINUTES OF THE COMMITTEE TO REVIEW GENERIC

**REQUIREMENTS MEETING NUMBER 381** 

The Committee to Review Generic Requirements (CRGR) held special Meeting No. 381 on February 20, 2003, from 2:00 P.M. to 4:00 P.M., with the attendees listed in Attachment 1. The purpose of this meeting was to review the proposed Generic Letter, "Requirements for Steam Generator Tube Inspections," (ADAMS Accession No.ML030240119). The slide presentation is found in ADAMS, Accession No. ML030520484.

Mr. Emmett Murphy, Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation, briefed the CRGR on the proposed Generic Letter, "Requirements for Steam Generator Tube Inspections."

The purpose of the Generic Letter is to clearly convey the NRC's interpretation of the Steam Generator Technical Specifications (TS) and to solicit from licensees whether or not they were interpreting the TS the same way and if they were not, to submit their safety basis and/or TS amendment to the NRC. This request for information is due to concerns raised by the staff that certain methods may not be able to detect flaws along the length of the steam generator tubes as outlined by the TS.

The CRGR had a number of comments and questions on the proposed package. A major concern of the CRGR was that the Generic Letter did not clearly establish the basis for the request for information. The Committee recommended that the nexus between the TS and Appendix B requirements needs to be made clearer in order to support the compliance exception. Another concern of the CRGR was that the wording relating to the submission of TS amendments would have resulted in an unintended backfit. The Committee also discussed whether the interpretation of the TS described in the proposed letter is a new staff position. Based on the discussion with the staff, the Committee agreed that the interpretation of the TS is not a new staff position. The CRGR suggested various changes in order to strengthen the Generic Letter and assure that no backfit is inadvertently implied. The staff agreed with CRGR and intends to revise the Generic Letter to addressed the CRGR comments.

The CRGR and staff agreed that CRGR member, Dr. Brian Sheron, will verify that the CRGR comments have been resolved before the Generic Letter is issued for public comment. Furthermore, the CRGR and staff agreed that the Generic Letter will be reviewed again by the CRGR after the public comments have been received and addressed.

Attachmer	nt: As stated									
cc: Se	See attached list.									
C:\ORPCheckout\FileNET\ML030660119.wpd										
OAR in ADAMS? (Y or N) <u>Y</u> 001 Publicly Available? (Y or N <u>) N</u>			ADAMS ACCESSION NO.: ML030660119 TEMPLATE NO. CRGR-DATE OF RELEASE TO PUBLIC N/A SENSITIVE? N							₹-
To receive a copy of this document, indicate in the box: "C" = Copy without attachment/enclosure "E" = Copy with attachment/enclosure "N" = No copy										
OFFICE	CRGR		CRGR							
NAME	L. Cupidon		C. Ader							

03/06/03

DATE

3/05/03

(RES File Code) RES

# CRGR MEETING No. 381 LIST OF ATTENDEES

(February 20, 2003)

### **CRGR Members**

Charles E. Ader, Chairman
Brian W. Sheron, NRR
M. Wayne Hodges, NMSS (for Margaret V. Federline)
Janice E. Moore, OGC
Jack R. Strosnider, RES
Bruce S. Mallett, RII

Les Cupidon, CRGR Staff

#### NRR Staff

William M. Dean, NRR/DE
William H. Bateman, NRR/DE/EMCB
Emmett L. Murphy, NRR/DE/EMCB
Louise A. Lund, NRR/DE/EMCB
Kenneth J. Karwoski, NRR/DE/EMCB
Maitri Banerjee, NRR/DLPM/PDIII-2
William D. Beckner, NRR/DRIP/RORP
John W. Shapaker, NRR/DRIP/RORP
John Lehning, NRR/DSSA/SPLB

#### **OGC Staff**

Shermin E. Turk, OGC

### MEMO DATED: 03/03/03

## SUBJECT: MINUTES FOR THE COMMITTEE TO REVIEW GENERIC REQUIREMENTS MEETING NUMBER 381

cc w/atts: Chairman Meserve Commissioner Dicus Commissioner McGaffigan Commissioner Merrifield Annette Vietti-Cook, Secretary of the Commission William D. Travers, EDO William F. Kane, DEDR Carl J. Paperiello, DEDMRS Frank J. Congel, OE Hubert T. Bell, OIG Karen D. Cyr, OGC	Mail Stop O-16 C1 O-16 C1 O-16 C1 O-16 C1 O-16 C1 O-16 E15 O-16 E15 O-14 E1 T-5 D28 O-15 D21
Janice Moore, OGC	0-13 021
John T. Larkins, ACRS	T-2 E26
Martin J. Virgilio, NMSS	T-8 A23
Margaret V. Federline, NMSS	1 0 7 120
E. William Brach, NMSS	O-13 D13
M. Wayne Hodges, NMSS/SFPO	O-13 D13
Samuel J. Collins, NRR	O-5 E7
Brian W. Sheron, NRR	
Gary Holahan, NRR	O-10 A1
R. William Borchardt, NRR	O-5 E7
Ashok C. Thadani, RES	T-10 F12
Jack Strosnider, RES	
W. Beecher, OPA	O-2 A13
H. Miller, Region I	
L. Reyes, Region II	
Bruce Mallett, R II	
J. Dyer, Region III	
E. Merschoff, Region IV	
William M. Dean, NRR/DE	
William H. Bateman, NRR/DE/EMCB	
Emmett L. Murphy, NRR/DE/EMCB	
Louise A. Lund, NRR/DE/EMCB	
Kenneth J. Karwoski, NRR/DE/EMCB	
Maitri Banerjee, NRR/DLPM/PDIII-2	
William D. Beckner, NRR/DRIP/RORP	
John W. Shapaker, NRR/DRIP/RORP	
John Lehning, NRR/DSSA/SPLB	
Shermin E. Turk, OGC	