

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

REGION IV

611 RYAN PLAZA DRIVE, SUITE 400 ARLINGTON, TEXAS 76011-4005

March 6, 2003

MEETING WITH STP NUCLEAR OPERATING COMPANY

FACILITY: South Texas Project

DOCKETS: 50-498;50-499

DATE AND TIME: March 24, 2003

7 p.m. (CST)

LOCATION: Bay City Civic Center

201 7th Street

Bay City, Texas 77404

PURPOSE: End-of-cycle public meeting to present the NRC assessment of South

Texas Project safety performance and to describe other NRC focus areas

for the period January 1 through December 31, 2002

CATEGORY 1: The public is invited to observe this meeting and will have one or more

opportunities to communicate with the NRC after the business portion,

but before the meeting is adjourned.

PARTICIPANTS: NRC

A. T. Howell III, Director, Division of Reactor Projects (DRP)

W. D. Johnson, Chief, Projects Branch A, DRP N. F. O'Keefe, Senior Resident Inspector, DRP

G. L. Guerra, Resident Inspector, DRP

LICENSEE

Joe Sheppard, Vice President & Assistant to the President & Chief

Executive Officer

Gary Parkey, Vice President, Generation

Tom Jordan, Vice President, Engineering & Technical Services

Ed Halpin, Plant General Manager

MEETING CONTACT: William D. Johnson, NRC, RIV

817/860-8148 wdj@nrc.gov CC:

William T. Cottle, President and Chief Executive Officer STP Nuclear Operating Company P.O. Box 289 Wadsworth, Texas 77483

Tom Jordan, Vice President Engineering & Technical Services STP Nuclear Operating Company P.O. Box 289 Wadsworth, Texas 77483

S. M. Head, Manager, Licensing Nuclear Quality & Licensing Department STP Nuclear Operating Company P.O. Box 289, Mail Code: N5014 Wadsworth, Texas 77483

A. Ramirez/C. M. Canady City of Austin Electric Utility Department 721 Barton Springs Road Austin, Texas 78704

M. T. Hardt/W. C. Gunst City Public Service Board P.O. Box 1771 San Antonio, Texas 78296

D. G. Tees/R. L. Balcom Houston Lighting & Power Company P.O. Box 1700 Houston, Texas 77251

Jon C. Wood Matthews & Branscomb 112 E. Pecan, Suite 1100 San Antonio, Texas 78205

A. H. Gutterman, Esq. Morgan, Lewis & Bockius 1111 Pennsylvania Avenue NW Washington, DC 20004 C. A. Johnson/R. P. Powers AEP - Central Power and Light Company P.O. Box 289, Mail Code: N5022 Wadsworth, Texas 77483

INPO Records Center 700 Galleria Parkway Atlanta, Georgia 30339-5957

Director, Division of Compliance & Inspection Bureau of Radiation Control Texas Department of Health 1100 West 49th Street Austin, Texas 78756

Brian Almon
Public Utility Commission
William B. Travis Building
P.O. Box 13326
1701 North Congress Avenue
Austin, Texas 78701-3326

Environmental and Natural Resources Policy Director P.O. Box 12428 Austin, Texas 78711-3189

Judge, Matagorda County Matagorda County Courthouse 1700 Seventh Street Bay City, Texas 77414

G. R. Bynog, Program Manager/ Chief Inspector Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation Boiler Division P.O. Box 12157, Capitol Station Austin, Texas 78711

Susan M. Jablonski
Office of Permitting, Remediation and Registration
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality
MC-122, P.O. Box 13087
Austin, Texas 78711-3087

Ted Enos 4200 South Hulen Suite 630 Fort Worth, Texas 76109

Charles Martinez, Jr. Mayor, City of Bay City City Hall 1901 Fifth Street Bay City, Texas 77414

John Connor Mayor, City of Palacios P.O. Box 845 Palacios City Hall Palacios, Texas 77465

James Mitchell, Sheriff Matagorda County 2323 Avenue E Bay City, Texas 77414

Federal Emergency Management Agency Ron Castleman, Regional Director Region VI, Federal Regional Center 800 North Loop 288 Denton, Texas 76201-3698

Roger Mulder State Energy Conservation Office 111 E 17th Street, Room 1114 Austin, Texas 78711

E-Mail To

() NRC Attendees

PMNS Mtg Announcement Coordinator

BWS B. Sheron, ADPT RWB1 R. Borchardt, ADIP

OEMAIL D/OE

TJF T. Frye, NRR Enforcement Coordinator

TXR T. Reis

MCT M. Thadani, Project Manager, NRR NFO N. O'Keefe, SRI Resident Inspector

W. Maier, RSLO WAM G. Sanborn, EO GFS M. Vasquez, ES **GMV** JAC1, CJG **RA Secretaries** LAO, DLF **DRP** Division LMB, NLH, JLH2 **DRS** Division CMS, JAK, BST1 **DNMS** Division JLP J. Pellet, IRM LPL P. Longdo

R:_STP\2003\ST3-24-03MN-EOC.wpd

RIV:SPE:DRP/A	RSLO	PAO	C:DRP/A	
CAPaulk;df	WAMaier	VLDricks	WDJohnson	
/RA/	/RA/	/RA/	/RA/	
3/ /03	3/ /03	3/ /03	3/ /03	