

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

REGION IV

611 RYAN PLAZA DRIVE, SUITE 400 ARLINGTON, TEXAS 76011-4005

March 5, 2003

MEETING WITH ENERGY NORTHWEST

FACILITY: Columbia Generating Station

DOCKET: 50-397

DATE AND TIME: April 11, 2003

6:30 p.m. (PDT)

LOCATION: Richland Public Library Gallery

955 Northgate Drive Richland, WA 99352

PURPOSE: End-of-cycle public meeting to present the NRC assessment of

Columbia Generating Station safety performance and to describe

other NRC focus areas for the period January 1 through

December 31, 2002

CATEGORY 1: The public is invited to observe this meeting and will have one or

more opportunities to communicate with the NRC after the business portion, but before the meeting is adjourned.

PARTICIPANTS: NRC

A. T. Howell, Director, Division of Reactor Projects (DRP)

W. B. Jones, Chief, Project Branch E, DRP G. D. Replogle, Senior Resident Inspector

LICENSEE

Dale Atkinson, Vice President, Technical Services

Scott Oxenford, Plant Manager

Doug Coleman, Manager, Performance Assessment and

Regulatory Programs

Christina Perino, Manager, Licensing Steve Scammon, Manager, Security

MEETING CONTACT: William Jones, NRC, RIV

817/860-8147 WBJ@nrc.gov

CC:

J. V. Parrish (Mail Drop 1023) Chief Executive Officer Energy Northwest P.O. Box 968 Richland, Washington 99352-0968

Rodney Webring (Mail Drop PE04) Vice President, Nuclear Generation Energy Northwest P.O. Box 968 Richland, Washington 99352-0968

Albert E. Mouncer (Mail Drop PE01) Vice President, Corporate Services/ General Counsel/CFO Energy Northwest P.O. Box 968 Richland, Washington 99352-0968

Chairman

Energy Facility Site Evaluation Council P.O. Box 43172 Olympia, Washington 98504-3172

Douglas W. Coleman (Mail Drop PE20) Manager, Performance Assessment and Regulatory Programs Energy Northwest P.O. Box 968 Richland, Washington 99352-0968

Christina L. Perino (Mail Drop PE20) Manager, Licensing Energy Northwest P.O. Box 968 Richland, Washington 99352-0968

Chairman

Benton County Board of Commissioners P.O. Box 190 Prosser, Washington 99350-0190

Dale K. Atkinson (Mail Drop PE08) Vice President, Technical Services Energy Northwest P.O. Box 968 Richland, Washington 99352-0968 Thomas C. Poindexter, Esq. Winston & Strawn 1400 L Street, N.W. Washington, D.C. 20005-3502

Bob Nichols
Executive Policy Division
Office of the Governor
P.O. Box 43113
Olympia, Washington 98504-3113

Lynn Albin Washington State Department of Health P.O. Box 7827 Olympia, WA 98504-7827

Gary Robertson, Director Division of Radiation Protection Department of Health P.O. Box 47827 Olympia, Washington 98504-7827

Chairman
Board of Benton County Commissioners
P.O. Box 190
Prosser, Washington 99350

Frank H. Brock, Chair Board of Franklin County Commissioners 1016 North 4th Street Pasco, Washington 99301

Federal Emergency Management Agency Federal Regional Center John Pennington, Regional Director 130 228th Street, SW Bothell, Washington 98021-9796 E-Mail To

() NRC Attendees

PMNS Mtg Announcement Coordinator

BWS ADPT

RWB1 Bill Borchardt, NRR

BJB B. Benney, Project Manager, NRR

OEMAIL D/OE

TJF Tim Frye, NRR Enforcement Coordinator

TXR T. Reis

WAM W. Maier, RSLO G. Sanborn, EO GFS M. Vasquez, ES **GMV** V. Dricks, PAO VLD JAC1, CJG **RA Secretaries** LAO, DLF **DRP** Division LMB, NLH, JLH2 **DRS** Division CMS, JAK, BST1 **DNMS** Division JLP J. Pellet, IRM LPL P. Longdo

R:\ COL\2003\COL4-9-03MN-EOC.wpd

RIV:C:DRP/E	RSLO	PAO	
WBJones;df	WAMaier	VLDricks	
/RA/	/RA/	/RA/	
3/4/03	3/5/03	3/5/03	