

# UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

#### REGION IV

#### 611 RYAN PLAZA DRIVE, SUITE 400 ARLINGTON, TEXAS 76011-4005

March 5, 2003

MEETING WITH ARIZONA PUBLIC SERVICE COMPANY

FACILITY: Palo Verde Nuclear Generating Station

DOCKETS: 50-528; 50-529; 50-530

DATE & TIME: March 19, 2003

7 p.m. (MST)

LOCATION: Community Room in Estrella Hall

Estrella Mountain Community College

3000 Dysart Road

Avondale, Arizona 85323

PURPOSE: End-of-cycle public meeting to present the NRC assessment of Palo

Verde Nuclear Generating Station's safety performance and to describe other NRC focus areas for the period January 1 through December 31,

2002

CATEGORY 1: The public is invited to observe this meeting and will have the opportunity

to communicate with the NRC after the business portion, but before the

meeting is adjourned.

PARTICIPANTS: NRC

Linda Smith, Chief, Project Branch D, Division of Reactor Projects (DRP)

Nancy Salgado, Senior Resident Inspector, DRP

Greg Warnick, Resident Inspector, DRP Jim Melfi, Resident Inspector, DRP

**LICENSEE** 

Gregg Overbeck, Senior Vice President Nuclear

Craig Seaman, Director Nuclear Assurance and Nuclear Regulatory

**Affairs** 

David M. Smith, Director Operations

David Mauldin, Vice President Nuclear Engineering

Terry Radtke, Director Maintenance

MEETING CONTACT: Linda Smith, NRC, RIV

817/860-8137 LJS@nrc.gov

#### CC:

Gregg R. Overbeck, Senior Vice President, Nuclear Arizona Public Service Company P.O. Box 52034 Phoenix, Arizona 85072-2034

## Steve Olea Arizona Corporation Commission 1200 W. Washington Street Phoenix, Arizona 85007

Douglas K. Porter, Senior Counsel Southern California Edison Company Law Department, Generation Resources P.O. Box 800 Rosemead, California 91770

# Chairman Maricopa County Board of Supervisors 301 W. Jefferson, 10th Floor Phoenix, Arizona 85003

Aubrey V. Godwin, Director Arizona Radiation Regulatory Agency 4814 South 40 Street Phoenix, Arizona 85040

Craig K. Seaman, Director Regulatory Affairs/Nuclear Assurance Palo Verde Nuclear Generating Station Mail Station 7636 P.O. Box 52034 Phoenix, Arizona 85072-2034

Hector R. Puente Vice President, Power Generation El Paso Electric Company 2702 N. Third Street, Suite 3040 Phoenix, Arizona 85004

Terry Bassham, Esq. General Counsel El Paso Electric Company 123 W. Mills El Paso, Texas 79901 John W. Schumann Los Angeles Department of Water & Power Southern California Public Power Authority P.O. Box 51111, Room 1255-C Los Angeles, California 90051-0100

John Taylor Public Service Company of New Mexico 2401 Aztec NE, MS Z110 Albuquerque, New Mexico 87107-4224

Jarlath Curran Southern California Edison Company 5000 Pacific Coast Hwy. Bldg. DIN San Clemente, California 92672

Robert Henry Salt River Project 6504 East Thomas Road Scottsdale, Arizona 85251

Brian Almon
Public Utility Commission
William B. Travis Building
P.O. Box 13326
1701 North Congress Avenue
Austin, Texas 78701-3326

Mr. Michael Austin, Director Arizona Division of Emergency Management 5636 East McDowell Road Building 101 Phoenix, Arizona 85008-3495

Mr. Jeff Griffin, Regional Director Federal Emergency Management Agency 1111 Broadway, Suite 1200 Oakland, California 94607-4052

The Honorable Ron Drake Mayor of Avondale 525 North Central Avondale, Arizona 85323

The Honorable Dustin Hull Mayor of Buckeye 100 North Apache Road Buckeye, Arizona 85326 The Honorable Robert Robles Mayor of El Mirage P.O. Box 26 El Mirage, Arizona 85335

The Honorable Elaine Scruggs Mayor of Glendale 5850 West Glendale Avenue Glendale, Arizona 85301

The Honorable Seth Kanter Vice Mayor of Goodyear 119 North Litchfield Road Goodyear, Arizona 85338

The Honorable J. Woodfin Thomas Mayor of Litchfield 244 West Wigwam Blvd. Litchfield Park, Arizona 85340

The Honorable John Keegan May of Peoria 8401 West Monroe Street Peoria, Arizona 85345

The Honorable Skip Rimsza Mayor of Phoenix 200 West Washington Phoenix, Arizona 85007

The Honorable Joan Shafer Mayor of Surprise 12425 West Bell Road Surprise, Arizona 85374

The Honorable Adolfo Gamez Mayor of Tolleson 9555 West Van Buren Street Tolleson, Arizona 85353

The Honorable Daphne Green Mayor of Youngtown 12030 Clubhouse Square Youngtown, Arizona 85363

### E-Mail To

( ) NRC Attendees

PMNS Mtg Announcement Coordinator

BWS ADPT JRJ ADIP

JND J. Donohew, Project Manager, NRR

OEMAIL D/OE

TJF Tim Frye, NRR Enforcement Coordinator

TXR T. Reis

WAM W. Maier, RSLO G. Sanborn, EO GFS M. Vasquez, ES **GMV** V. Dricks, PAO VLD JAC1, CJG **RA Secretaries** LAO, DLF **DRP** Division LMB, NLH, JLH2 **DRS** Division CMS, JAK, BST1 **DNMS** Division JLP J. Pellet, IRM LPL P. Longdo

#### R:\ PV\2003\PV3-19-03MN-EOC.wpd

RIV:PE:DRP/D	RSLO	PAO	C:DRP/D	
ELCrowe;df	WAMaier	VLDricks	LJSmith	
LJSmith for	E - LJSmith	E - LJSmith	/RA/	
3/5/03	3/5/03	3/5/03	3/5/03	