

NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION WASHINGTON, D.C. 20555

PRESIDING OFFICER'S STATEMENT

I, Richard A. Meserve, Chairman of the Nuclear Regulatory Commission, hereby certify that I presided at a closed meeting of the Commission during the week of January 13, 2003 at One White Flint North, Rockville, Maryland at which time the following subject was considered:

Tuesday, January 14, 2003

10:00 a.m.

Discussion of Security Issues

Chairman

Dated at Rockville, Maryland this 17th day of January 2003

ATTENDANCE AT CLOSED MEETING, TUESDAY, JANUARY 14, 2003

10:00 A.M.

Discussion of Security Issues

Richard A. Meserve, Chairman of the Commission Greta J. Dicus, Member of the Commission Nils J. Diaz, Member of the Commission Edward McGaffigan, Member of the Commission Jeffrey S. Merrifield, Member of the Commission

Astwood, H., Assistant to Commissioner McGaffigan

Beecher, W., Office of Public Affairs

Benner, E., Assistant to Commissioner Dicus

Bergman, T., Office of the Executive Director for Operations

Borchardt, W., Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

Burns, S., Office of the General Counsel

Craig, J., Office of the Executive Director for Operations

Croteau, R., Assistant to Commissioner Diaz

Cyr, K., Office of the General Counsel

Davis, R., Assistant to Commissioner Diaz

Dingbaum, S., Office of the Inspector General

Federline, M., Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

Flack, D., Assistant to Commissioner Diaz

Funches, J., Chief Financial Officer

Gamberoni, D., Office of the Secretary

Goldberg, J., Office of the General Counsel

Hiltz, T., Assistant to Commissioner Dicus

Kane, W., Office of the Executive Director for Operations

Keeling, B., Office of Congressional Affairs

Norry, P., Office of the Executive Director for Operations

Paperiello, C., Office of the Executive Director for Operations

Portner, L., Office of Congressional Affairs

Rathbun, D., Assistant to Chairman Meserve

Sharkey, J., Assistant to Commissioner McGaffigan

Thadani, A., Office of Nuclear Regulatory Research

Thoma, J., Assistant to Commissioner Merrifield

Tracy, G., Office of Nuclear Security and Incident Response

Travers, W., Executive Director for Operations

Tschiltz, M., Assistant to Chairman Meserve

Uhle, J., Assistant to Chairman Meserve

Vietti-Cook, A., Secretary of the Commission

Weber, M., Office of Nuclear Security and Incident Response

Zimmerman, J., Assistant to Commissioner Merrifield

Zimmerman, R., Office of Nuclear Security and Incident Response

Benjamin, J., Exelon
Hintz, D., Entergy
Kelley, C., Entergy
Kingsley, O., Exelon
Lane, R., Exelon
McGaha, J., Entergy
Nicks, T., BWX Technologies
Sellman, M., Nuclear Mgmt. Company
Sims, J., Southern Nuc. Op. Company
Terry, L., TXU Energy

Bishop, R., NEI Brons, J., NEI Colvin, J., NEI Floyd, S., NEI Hendricks, L., NEI