January 22, 2003

Mr. Lew Myers
Chief Operating Officer
FirstEnergy Nuclear Operating Company
Davis-Besse Nuclear Power Station
5501 North State Route 2
Oak Harbor, OH 43449-9760

Dear Mr. Myers:

This letter confirms the discussion between members of our staffs to discuss plant performance and progress on your Return to Service Plan for the Davis-Besse Nuclear Power Station, as part of the implementation of NRC's Inspection Manual Chapter (IMC) 0350 "Oversight of Operating Reactor Facilities in a Shutdown Condition with Performance Problems". The meeting will be held February 11, 2003, from 2:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. (EST) at the Camp Perry Clubhouse. This meeting is open to the public.

The Davis-Besse Oversight Panel will also be conducting a separate meeting beginning at 7:00 p.m. (EST) with the local public at the Camp Perry Clubhouse to present the status of the NRC's activities in these areas and to answer any questions from members of the public.

We will gladly discuss any questions you may have concerning this matter.

Sincerely,

/RA/

Christine A. Lipa, Chief Branch 4 Division of Reactor Projects

Docket No. 50-346 License No. NPF-3

See Attached Distribution

DOCUMENT NAME: C:\ORPCheckout\FileNET\ML030300165.wpd To receive a copy of this document, indicate in the box: "C" = Copy without attachment/enclosure "E" = Copy with attachment/enclosure "N" = No copy

OFFICE	RIII	RIII	RIII	RIII	
NAME	CLipa/klg	DPassehl			
DATE	01/22/03	01/22/03			

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY

-2-L. Myers

cc w/encls: B. Saunders, President - FENOC

Plant Manager

Manager - Regulatory Affairs M. O'Reilly, FirstEnergy

State Liaison Officer, State of Ohio R. Owen, Ohio Department of Health Ohio Public Utilities Commission C. Emahiser, Ottawa County Sheriff J. P. Greer, Director, Emergency

Management Agency

S. Isenberg, President, Lucas County **Board of Commissioners**

J. Telb, Lucas County Sheriff B. Halsey, Director, Emergency Management Agency

G. Adams, Village Administrator, Genoa

The Honorable Robert Purney The Honorable Lowell C. Krumnow The Honorable Joseph Verkin The Honorable Thomas Leaser The Honorable Jack Ford

The Honorable Thomas Brown

C. Koebel, President, Ottawa County

Board of Commissioners The Honorable Joe Ihnat

INPO

D. Lochbaum, Union of Concerned Scientists

ADAMS Distribution:

AJM **DFT**

S. Rosenberg, OEDO Project Director, NRR Project Mgr., NRR

RidsNrrDipmlipb

J. Caldwell. RIII

G. Grant, RIII

B. Clayton, RIII

R. Lickus, RIII

S. Thomas, SRI

DRPIII

DRSIII

PLB1

JRK1

DB0350