The Honorable Richard B. Cheney President of the United States Senate Washington D.C. 20510

Dear Mr. President:

Enclosed is the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission's (NRC's) Fiscal Year 2004 Budget Estimates and Performance Plan. Our performance plan is provided in accordance with the Government Performance and Results Act of 1993 and reflects our continuing progress in implementing the Act.

The NRC will separately be submitting a Proposed Bill for Authorization of Appropriations for Fiscal Year 2004 in support of our budget estimates.

Sincerely,

/RA/

Richard A. Meserve

Enclosure: As stated

Identical letter sent to:

The Honorable Richard B. Cheney President of the United States Senate Washington D.C. 20510

The Honorable Pete V. Domenici, Chairman Committee on Energy and Natural Resources United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510 cc: Senator Jeff Bingaman

The Honorable James M. Inhofe, Chairman Committee on Environment and Public Works United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510 cc: Senator James M. Jeffords

The Honorable W. J. "Billy" Tauzin, Chairman Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 cc: Representative John Dingell

The Honorable Mitchell E. Daniels, Jr. Director
Office of Management and Budget
Washington, D.C. 20503
cc: John Pfeiffer, OMB

The Honorable David M. Walker Comptroller General of the United States General Accounting Office Washington, D.C. 20548

The Honorable George V. Voinovich, Chairman Subcommittee on Clean Air, Climate Change, and Nuclear Safety
Committee on Environment and Public Works United States Senate
Washington, D.C. 20510
cc: Senator Joseph I. Lieberman

The Honorable Joe Barton, Chairman Subcommittee on Energy and Air Quality Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 cc: Representative Rick Boucher The Honorable J. Dennis Hastert Speaker of the United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Susan Collins, Chairman Committee on Governmental Affairs United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510 cc: Senator Joseph I. Lieberman

The Honorable Thomas M. Davis, Chairman Committee on Government Reform United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 cc: Representative Henry Waxman